We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water country -decent water park”
Review of Water Country

Water Country
Ranked #14 of 66 things to do in Portsmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: No one packs more fun into a water park than Water Country! We’ve got over 26 acres of your kind of fun for the whole family. Then again, we are New England's Largest, Cleanest, Safest, and Friendliest Waterpark! With cabanas and picnic areas, Water Country is the perfect place for your next birthday, party, family reunion, or group outing. Attractions like the all new Dr. Von Dark’s Tunnel Of Terror, Adventure River, and the Tahiti Tree House for children, ensure everyone has a good time at Water Country!
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Water country -decent water park”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Decent park, has a number of thrill slides, but there always seems to be. Ery longlines for any attraction that requires a tube. No fu standing in line for close to an hour for a ride that seems to last for less than an hour. Also, one thing to note that you WILL get wet on the lazy river due to ice cold waterfall placement. Fun for the kids, but not so much for u nsuspecting parents and/or grandparents. Also, if you take a credit card, be sure to carry
Your drivers lic. With you, or you will not be able to use your credit card at concession stands or locker rentals. While I'm Ll for fraud protection, the last thing I want to carry around at a water park is my drivers license! They really should advertise this more outside the park so you're not stuck one you're inside the park! Given the high price of their food, you'd think they'd make it easier to spend your money there!

Visited August 2013
1 Thank Origamimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good times...”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

fun times, had short lines, great for families. relaxing for adults with teens!! I was able to go on everything with my 9 yr old daughter so we had a great mother/daughter day!!!

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointment with Water Country management & secuirty”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Totally disappointed with the management and security from family visit to Water Country. It seems pretty pathetic when someone needs or feels they want to walk off with your flip flops why'll you're taking a ride, but when you pay good money for an exclusive seating area where only patrons with the appropriate wrist bands are allowed in, ( security at only one point of entry, there are two) and all kinds of non-paying customers are waking through the area is unacceptable. After we returned from doing some rides (hence when my flip flops where lifted) we can back to our cabana to see someone help themselves to two of our four tubes we rented in advance as not to have to wait in lines. No one else was even remotely seated in the immediate area, so seemed pretty brazen to me, especially since our other valuables and belongings where all tucked behind the tubes. Couldn't be more disappointed and turned off especially when we complained to management, or lack thereof, who ultimately handled the situation very poorly.

Visited August 2013
6 Thank momara2184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceEntertainment, Digital Media Manager at Water Country, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Posting this response on behalf of the park: Thank you for your feedback! Constructive criticism makes any organization better! While we were disappointed and are sorry that items were taken; we always recommend purchasing a locker. We cannot be responsible for monitoring everyone’s belongings. We try to make it quite affordable to rent a locker (we offer a $5 refund for returned locker keys) in addition to making the locations of those lockers very convenient throughout the park. The cabana areas are sectioned off and guests wearing the appropriate wristbands are permitted to go freely into and out of that area. We also have security and management personnel constantly patrolling the park. When alerted of your complaint, our management team attempted to make sure you were satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotonda West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fun, but crowded”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

There are plenty of fun water rides, but the crowds can get really crazy, and some of them are really rude, and the food is fairly pricey. Better crowd control is needed, along with better cleaning and lower prices.

Visited September 2012
1 Thank Marty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Busy, long lines, kids found it fun overall!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Overall we found it busy and weren't able to get on a lot of slides because of the waits. Would be disappointed if we had paid full price for the tickets. Went on a weekday, can't imagine what it would have been like on the weekend. All rides were open, from other reviews I read I thought some attractions would be closed with a lot of kids going off to college and two weeks left in their season.

PAY FOR WHAT YOU CAN AHEAD OF TIME ONLINE - If you are going to rent a cabana, rent it online and also get your locker and tubes if you are planning on renting those at the same time. The lines were very long, we rented our cabana online and were able to go right to the check in. It seems you can only rent tubes and lockers online if you are renting a cabana.

Got our tickets half off over the winter through the Concord Monitor Daily Deal, we were able to go right to the turnstiles.
Overall staff was friendly and helpful
Never waited long for restrooms, and considering the environment, they were okay.
Cabanas, you are given a wristband to enter the cabana area, which gives you a little more sense of security, but at times we noticed no one at the entrance to monitor who came in and out.
I don't remember if they were there 5 years ago, but there were LIFT ASSIST CHAIRS for the pools.

Busy (we went on Aug 22,2013, a Thursday, thinking it wouldn't be too bad with school about to start, we still found it busy)
Long lines
No staff at end of rides to make sure an orderly line is kept for tubes, you have to fend for yourself, it would be a lot easier if they staffed the end of the lines.
Activity Pool - this pool is located at the bottom of the Giant Triple Slides, we found this pool to be cloudy and very dirty compared to the other pool we took quick dips in while we waited for others that were in line. We got right out.
Cabana, we never saw the menu or the cabana server.

Racing Rapids & The Plunge - lines weren't too bad, fun slides
Double Geronimo - lines weren't too bad, kids loved it
Black Hole & Warp 8 - lines were long all day, didn't get to ride them.
Double Dive Boggan - lines weren't too bad, kids loved it
Thunder Falls & Wild Canyon - lines weren't too bad, lots of fun, group ride.
Dragon's Den - extremely long line, didn't get to ride it.
Dr. Von Dark’s Tunnel of Terror - kids waited an 1 1/2 hrs in line for a 30 second ride, they were disappointed.
Shoot & Screamer - not a bad wait, fun ride.
Triple Giant Slides - line wasn't bad, but surprising long considering the line went to 3 slides, fun slide.
Adventure River - another ride that would benefit from staff keeping an orderly line, it gets nasty trying to get a tube. This makes you wish you rented a tube. Once you get your tube though, it pretty fun and relaxing.
Giant Wave Pool - kids love this, gets overcrowded quickly.

Visited August 2013
6 Thank BIGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Water Country also viewed


Been to Water Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing