We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yes we went there again”
Review of Moxy

Moxy
Ranked #16 of 204 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Moxy; Self-possessed confidence. An attitude of fearlessness in everyday circumstances. The capacity to stand alone in favor of an unpopular opinion or course of action with a casual demeanor. Moxy is a modern American tapas restaurant focusing on smaller plates meant for sharing and taking our inspiration from our local farmers, culture and history. Moxy is tapas in spirit, energy, style of din
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“yes we went there again”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

we were first introduced to this little casual tapas restaurant at the beginning of the summer by some friends. Last night we returned for out 4th visit this season and are going a few more times before we head to FL for the winter
the menu is excellent and changes all the time
do not miss this great little spot in Portsmouth NH

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    71
    31
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding and creative fare for the gourmand or the curious”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I took a date here in July based on a suggestion from a friend. The idea of American style tapas is very clever and unique. They excelled with all the meal choices. Rather than order a set tasting menu we just ordered whatever looked good. We had the calamari, skate, mini hotdogs, short rib, a pork dish and the fried dough for dessert. A cocktail, a bottle of wine and excellent and attentive service made for a great evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DinnerTroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I had higher hopes for this tapas style restaurant but it was just ok. Portions were very small and I felt lacked the oomph of flavor I would have expected given the chef's credentials.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Fun and Entertaining Food”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a fine Tapas of ribs, shrimp etc. Funky, crowded, noisy and fun with an energetic buzz, tasty foods and wine we had a wonderful end to an enjoyable day in Portsmouth.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tremm298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The food was interesting and well prepared and the cocktails were wonderful! I would highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Imabooklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moxy also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 
Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Moxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing