We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience...”

Thirsty Moose Taphouse
Ranked #21 of 201 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have had the pleasure of visiting the Thirsty Moose for the first time on a recent trip to Portsmouth, NH. Very pleased with the staff and the food is priced well. The entertainment downstairs had a great atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StayEatSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    104
    21
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
312 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I perfect place to hangout in Portsmouth. Great micro-brew beer selection from around the World. Full menu, but I didn't eat there. Lots of TV's for sports. There are two bars and a large dining area on the ground level and a bar downstairs where the bands play in the evening. It is mainly cover bands.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SolarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd times the charm here..... Can't wait for the 3rd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Having stopped by the Thirsty Moose Taphouse for the second time, I am convinced the third time will not only impress but completely satisfy. If you like a comfortable atmosphere, with pleasant service (thanks Lauren) and the best beer selection to appease the palette of any beer snob it is a must visit on your itinerary while in Portsmouth!

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best on tap Beer selection anywhere!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I have had the pleasure of visiting the Thirsty Moose Taphouse on several occasions and have always been very pleased with not only their ever changing beer selection but also their menu..the food is priced extremely well and the beer is ice cold ..not to mention they usually have great entertainment almost every night!!

Helpful?
Thank Danloring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great selection of beer but not great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I've been here a few times - only actually got to sit and eat twice - the last time we couldn't get anyone to even approach our table to ask if we wanted water. I will say the beer selection is awesome - the interior is a bit cave like but they've done a great job with the space they have - the Memorial Bridge Bar is a cool addition. The food is pub like so it can be hard to screw that up, they just need to work on service a bit more. I'll give it another try at some point though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thirsty Moose Taphouse also viewed

 
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Thirsty Moose Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing