We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat pies”
Review of Coat of Arms Pub - CLOSED

Coat of Arms Pub
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Meat pies”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Hadn't had a meat pie since I visited the UK until I came across Coat of Arms. Steak & kidney with chips! Hmmm!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    61
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A taste of Edinburgh Scotland in Portsmouth N.H.”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

A little hard to find but worth the search. Great selection of British Pub grub. After a rececent trip to Edinburgh this is the closest I have ever found to true British Pub Food. Authentic fish and chips brings me back time and time again.

Helpful?
1 Thank diddonethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slingerlands, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great if you are looking for a very casual place to hang out”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Very casual - decor needs some upkeep - but I don't think that is what this place is all about.
This is a nice casual bar - with great beers and mixed drinks, pool tables and dart boards.

Spent the extended weekend in Portsmouth - sampled many places and this was by far the best martini I had gotten.
Food was also quite decent. Nothing outstanding but quite good for prices etc.
I will definitely go back and would definitely recommend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phdmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was another stop on a pub crawl we did through Portsmouth recently. COA was a cool place with a great list of beers. We ended up staying here quite a while , playing pool upstairs and sitting in front of a fireplace.

Only knock was in was definitely the most pricey bar we stopped in that night

But, I would definitely recommend this place to anyone in the Portsmouth area

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Authentic British Food”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Here is a great place to enjoy authentic British food, or if you just want that English pub atmosphere to stop in for a drink, play a game of pool or watch some footy here it is. It is one of two English Pubs in New Hampshire that actually serves authentic Shepherds Pie. Most others think the dish consists of beef (cottage pie) when it is LAMB. I don't know of any shepherds who shepherd cattle, but I digress. It was a late Friday afternoon lunch we stopped by for. The selections of beer and ales is large and tends toward UK brands but many good American labels are offered as well. We started off with Sausage Rolls accompanied by Colman's mustard. The batter was not greasy, but light and flaky, the sausages were superb. For mains we ordered the Bangers and Mash with gravy and mustard, the Mac and Three Cheeses, and the Fish and Chips. The Pork Bangers and Mash were juicy and the potatoes creamy delicious, the gravy just enough. This dish will fill you up, so two bangers did the trick. The Mac with Three Cheeses (smoked gouda, Gruyere and Mozzarella) served with a salad garnish is also another hardy dish - also delicious, also worth the stop in. The Fish and Chips (especially the beer batter) reminded me of what you get in England. The Haddock is accompanied by steak fries and if you've eaten this dish in the UK it will seem very much the same, only the Haddock replaces the usual Plaice. There are many British dishes on the menu, such as the Ploughman's Lunch, Steak and Kidney Pie, Cottage Pie, Scotch Eggs, and an all day offered English Breakfast. You don't get more authentic than that. Note: Parking garage is directly across the way.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Osullyofnewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coat of Arms Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing