We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very accomodating and great pizza”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Downtown Brickoven Pizza
Ranked #107 of 201 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
York, ME
Level Contributor
367 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very accomodating and great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We ate with a group of about 10 people. Everyone was ordering different ways; splitting pizzas between groups - sort of a nightmare for the wait person - but she handled it wonderfully. The salads are great, as are the pizza. Personally, I think the best in the area, but there are other good places too. They have different deals on different nights of the week, so check it out. We were technically too late for happy hour, but she got us the "deal" anyways. We recommend the restaurant. It has a very nice atmosphere. It can get very busy, especially on weekends, so be aware.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al-Sue-Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brasher Falls
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really, really good pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

I like all kinds (Well not the chain stuff.) of pizza. Gourmet pizza is nice once in a while, but I like the standard kind. To me, the keys are the crust and the sauce. As long as the toppings are fresh, I can't tell much difference. And non-fresh mozzarella is pretty standard everywhere. I had the thin crust and it was very tasty, cooked through (no doughy spot between the crust and the sauce) and slightly like a cracker. Just the way I like it. Their standard sauce is robust and they use enough of it. Plus, it tasted just as good cold the next day. I got take out and the staff was very accomodating with paper plates and napkins.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2eatanddrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry Northants
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great pizza - loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We ate there Friday night & had to wait 20/25 mins for a table,this wasn't a problem as we sat at the bar which was busy & full of life.
My husband & I had wings to start which were excellent ,really crispy & hot hot hot as we like them.
The pizzas were Thin crust succulent & tasty ,the service was good .The whole place was fuli including upstairs which is your typical American menu,all these people can't be wrong.
Great venue , excellent pizzas would really recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaventryDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Downtown Brick Oven Pizza and Pub is part of the Portsmouth Gas Light Co. restaurant - the entrance is actually around the corner from the Market Street entrance to the Gas Light Co. restaurant and downstairs in the basement. The restaurant is exactly what the name suggests - pizza and pub!

Looking for a break from seafood we went in here and weren't disappointed. The menu is full of pizzas, calzones, salads, and other tasty things. We only tried the pizza (they have a bunch of pre-made styles or you can design your own) but it was really delicious and tasted just like it had come out of the brick oven. Service was good even on a busy Friday night.

The place gets very, very crowded on weekend nights, so either come early or (especially if you have a larger party) be prepared to wait. If you have a smaller party of 2 or 3 you're likely to get seated fairly quickly, but they've stashed some tables in some tight spaces around the bar and you may find yourself dining with the overflow at the bar! It was worth the food, though.

Tip: if you can't decide on what kind of pizza to get or you want to try multiple kinds but don't want to order 4 or 6 pizzas, they will let you order toppings by halves, even of the specialty kinds. This let us try a bunch of stuff without ending up with a ton of food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yummy comparable to Rubies in York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

rubies is more fun both have good food, i dont like chicken on my pizza but you get what you want. and there's a pizza for everyone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dreaming A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downtown Brickoven Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Brickoven Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing