We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry overpriced for what it is..”
Review of Old Ferry Landing

Old Ferry Landing
Ranked #48 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
portsmouth nh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sorry overpriced for what it is..”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This famous spot used to be great for its food, prices and family atmosphere. Now its all about the bar and Jimmy Juice. More profit in booze than food so I have changed my first choice to another nearby waterfront venue where there's value for money.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nansaki13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    69
    35
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed with food and do not recommend :(”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Go to the Riverhouse down the block instead... Mussels are $1 more and so much better! Our mussels tasted lousy, did not have enough broth, we were not given bread for dipping and no plates.

The place is really old and in a nasty kind of way. Not old and charming at all. The only nice thing is the water view. (Bathrooms were dirty also). Very disappointing. We will not go back and certainly not be recommending.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianeS228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
2 reviews
“Brunch”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Have to check out their brunch menu! Their homemade pasta are absolutely unbelievable!!! Fresh seafood, good atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonniemsdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, not so great food.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

With all the restaurant decks overlooking Pescataqua River, we chose this one, but wouldn't go back. We did sit out on the deck by the rail since we were there at an off time. Very uncomfortable cramped seating. The couple beside us actually stopped talking when we sat down because we were so close to them. Server was efficient, but not friendly at all. Food was mediocre. I can't imagine how this place stays in business without the deck as an attraction. Inside was pretty dark and dingy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GypsyOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Three out of four ain't bad”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I used to live Portsmouth in the '80s and loved the Ferry Landing at Happy Hour, despite the cramped space for drinkers-only on its deck. Most of its deck is for dining. It was always a good place to bring out-of-towners for lunch...there's too many great dinner options in Portsmouth, a small city packed with restaurants.

The Old Ferry Landing gets a leg up for lunch because of its location on the water with a view of Maine across the Piscataqua River, the Portsmouth Naval Shipyard and the three matching tugboats docked nearby. So when visiting my daughter and family last month, it seemed appropriate to take my first-time-Portsmouth-visitor Signficant Other and an out-of-town cousin and her husband there for lunch. I enjoyed my usual fried clam basket and my cousin and husband were pleased with their offerings. My girl friend, however, ordered a lobster roll - expecting a lobster salad roll. She was disappointed that the lobster roll consisted of chunks of lobster in a frankfurter roll. No celery, no mayonnaise, no "salad". (Although the menu said "lobster roll" and not "lobster salad roll", we were all surprised at her entree.) The place to sit at the Ferry Landing is definitely outside on the deck - weather permitting - as it did during our visit. For three out of the four of us, it was a good experience. for the fourth, she was still in want of a real lobster roll.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DukeinDeerfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Ferry Landing also viewed

 

Been to Old Ferry Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing