We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pub fare and more”

British Beer Company
Reserve with OpenTable
British Beer Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood, Steakhouse, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Your local British pub with an American address!
Kittery, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent pub fare and more”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very large portions and many choices. Service was fantastic and we were very happy with our choices. I will definitely go back. Our waiter was very engaging and made some great suggestions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank advantage_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    113
    40
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Not a bad spot for a fairly inexpensive meal. Plenty of options to choose from. Lots of great beers. Food was pretty good. Went on a Saturday night. It was very busy but the staff was very friendly. Went with about 10 people. Kids too.
Wait staff was efficient and very cordial. Place is loud but its a bar/pub.
I would go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanl885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burtonsville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great selection of beers”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I stopped here on night while we were staying in Portsmouth. They have a great beer selection and a lively bar area. The ambiance is very nice. The bartenders were very friendly and helpful in suggesting beer and food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RAKfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield County, CT
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“For the beer connoisseur. Great Atmosphere on a Sat night”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had a large group eat here on a Sat night. Good food and a very broad beer selection from around the world. The bar was busy and had a good band. A fun night out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nodrama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice find!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We sat in front of the fireplace in the bar and had some amazing food (Game Pie was my favorite) and great drinks...mine was a Bloody Mary made with Absolut Vodka with Cilantro! Warm atmosphere, great food and decent prices. We will be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pjofnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed British Beer Company also viewed

 

Been to British Beer Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing