We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than some meals I had in Paris!!!”

Bridge Street Bistrot & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Bridge Street Bistrot & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
631 reviews
421 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Better than some meals I had in Paris!!!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Cozy and oh so provencal decor, the wine bar at the entrance is so much fun! Order by half glass, glass or a bottle! Make your own flights or nibble - it is non pressured, simply and casually laid back, like enjoying a tertulia at your favorite aunts house... Then head upstairs and pig out... The duck trio, cassoulette - make your knees week. The mushroom crepe - OMG! The aethereal and light white chocolate mousse... the caufoutis... The food is WONDERFUL, service is lovely, place is cozy and charming... one of the nicest, quaintest meals... LOVE IT!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Gave my husband a few options for dining in Portsmouth to celebrate his birthday and after looking at the menu and choices - he chose the Bridge Street Bistrot. We read the reviews and were hoping we wouldn't be dissatisfied - well - we were not. What a great little find. We'd come back here again without any hesitation. It's not a big place but we were a party of two and called for reservations. No problem. Some wonderful wine choices and staff knew what they were talking about. Had our wine before dinner downstairs at the bar - nice comfy place. Upstairs for diner - atmosphere quaint and just right for the space. We started with the portabello/crab app and one of the best escargot dishes I've ever had, very different. Not in your typical escargot dish, but in filo/spices and done to perfection. Loved both apps. My husband also had the chowder which he enjoyed. I had the salmon, cooked to perfection the sides were specialty potatoes and mixed veggies. My husband had the chicken/lobster dish - equally good. We some how managed to have some space for dessert - shared the flour-less chocolate cake - very moist and worth the calories. It is slightly off the beaten path, but very close to the Music Hall and a parking area across the street. Easy walking distance to downtown. We'll make the ride again - great surprise - great food. Kudos to the chef and the staff for a great dinner!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice little place. Good food. Good service.”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

A chilly November night. My lovely wife and I decided to try this place out before a show at the Music Hall.

A cozy little place, bit off the beaten path, but still convenient to parking and downtown.

We chose to eat in the downstairs bar area, with the warm and inviting gas stove just begging me to sit next to it and warm up.

Very friendly service. They have a bar menu of small dishes and appetizers, or an full dinner menu. Nice menu of wines, by bottle or glass.

My wife had the salmon, and pronounced herself stuffed and happy. I had coquille st. jacques. I thought the portion a bit small for the price. But it was delicious.

Skipped dessert. But the coffee was great.

A very cozy, warm, quiet place. Very relaxing. Bit pricey, but quality over quantity. A very nice alternative to the crowds and hustle/bustle of other places over on the beaten path that is downtown Portsmouth.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maida Vale
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Possibly the best restaurant in Portsmouth?”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

With all the fantastic restaurants in Portsmouth these days, the family that runs the Bridge Street Bistrot & Wine Bar deserve special praise for their wonderful restaurant, which excels in so many ways. We were in town recently visiting friends in nearby Rye. They (and other locals in the know) raved about the food here, and after a magnificent dinner I must take a minute to rave as well! The atmosphere, the service, and most of all... the high quality of the food all combined to produce a dinner to remember. The Bridge Street Bistrot may not be overly flashy or super trendy, but if you are looking for an excellent dinner from a very varied French inspired menu (the seafood is excellent!), eat where the gastronomically inclined locals eat... you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erling J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wine bar a great addition!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Cafe Mirabelle had been one of my husband's favorites in Portsmouth but we hadn't yet had a chance to return since it reinvented itself as the Bridge Street Bistrot and Wine Bar. We stopped in for a glass of wine recently when we had some extra time before meeting our son and his girlfriend. The small bites menu was so appealing that we ordered some country pate along with gruyere cheese gougere. Both were fabulous! There is a wide assortment of wines by the glass, very reasonably priced. Be sure to sign up for their wine club. On your return visit you get a wine glass -- and $1 off each glass of wine for subsequent visits. A great deal!. On the way in we noticed a note about a chocolate fondue offering. We asked our server (also the owner) for details. She pleasantly explained about their dessert offerings (including the fondue) in the wine bar, then returned a few minutes later with a sample. We were sold. When we were back in Portsmouth two nights later for a program at The Music Hall, we ended the night with fondue. Since there were four of us, we opted for the family-style serving: a generous bowl of chocolate served with strawberries, banana slices, banana bread, and more sweet treats. We'll definitely return here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moosegal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bridge Street Bistrot & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bridge Street Bistrot & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing