We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Nearby Hotels
US$173
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Portsmouth(Portsmouth)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,349)
Filter reviews
1,349 results
Traveller rating
852
375
63
39
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
852
375
63
39
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkinggreat locationfront deskwithin walking distancebreakfast buffethotel is centrally locatedstreet parkingrestaurants and shopscookiesvalet serviceper daypool and hot tubgreat place to stayvery nice hotelwould definitely stay here againnew englandbed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
908 - 913 of 1,349 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I really like this hotel. The location is excellent. A short walk from the centre of Portsmouth. The room was very comfortable and a good size. I'm generally very impressed with Hilton hotel rooms and this one was no exception. The only negative is that there was no safe in the room.

The desk staff and the housekeeping are very friendly and professional. The cookies and warm apple cider are a nice touch. The lounge is very comfortable and we were always made to feel welcome.

Valet parking was a little annoying but I suppose it's a good way to control the amount if cars on site.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NineEighteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great hotel, close to everything. Recommend getting room with new king size mattress. Breakfast is awesome. Eggs cooked to order and plenty of healthy choices. TV does not allow HDMI hookup to your computer which is important if you want to work off your laptop on the big screen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank BenHarriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel is very well maintained and is definitely a cut above the typical Hilton Garden Inn that I've stayed at. I accidentally booked our stay for the wrong dates and Merideth at the front desk was very gracious and was able to get us a room for the evening plus gave us a great recommendation for a nearby brewpub for dinner. Clean, comfortable room with everything working.

Only thing to be aware of is that valet parking is the only option the hotel offers ($18 per night) but you have in & out privileges and the valet staff are quick and friendly. There is a city run parking structure across the street but it was full so we decided the valet was worth it.

Great hotel and we'll definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

John O,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Comfortable accommodations, clean rooms and a very convenient location made our stay at Hilton Garden Inn great.....but the customer service pushed our experience to exceptional. From valet parking, to dining recommendations, to late-night snack options, every interaction we had with the staff felt more like a chat with a knowledgeable friend than a hotel employee. Now I just wish I lived closer so I could go back more often!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Inga S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We're pleased to hear that our customer service improved your experience. Come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I visited this hotel in October while traveling on business. The location was a bit confusing due to the one way streets in the area, but one located it was very clean, centrally located, and had high marks fort he bar and the food. Front staff was extremely nice, as was the bartender. Room is sizeable, good views, and very comfortable. Checking prices i the area I found this hotle to be GREAT value compared to equally rated hotels. Walking distance from everything you want to see in Portsmouth!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffLowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews