We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent location in Portsmouth, but overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An excellent location in Portsmouth, but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth. The hotel is very central, rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The Gym had the very basics and a bit small, but that's ok. That bing said I think it is certainly overpriced

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AhmedY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    338
    56
    34
    13
See reviews for
259
453
44
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, MA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed for a Saturday night during Portsmouth's Christmas weekend. The location is very good, but the hotel was extremely busy and the staff definitely seemed incapable of handling it. Check-in was prompt and efficient but our room was located right next to the elevator. It was loud all night long with paper thin walls (we could hear every word of the conversation in the room next to us) and the noise of people talking loudly coming on and off of the elevator. At check-in, we were offered free complimentary appetizers at the bar, cookies, and cider at 5 p.m. We showed up at five after and the cider was empty. There were tons of people mulling around waiting for it. The front desk staff said they put the cider out early and ran out. There were a few sparse appetizers (cheese/crackers and crudité). It was extremely cold outside so we wanted to wait for the cider to be replenished before we headed out for the tree lighting with our two teens. It took 30 minutes for the cider to be replenished. Around 8 p.m., we tried to use the indoor pool with our teens. There was a large, unbelievably LOUD extended family at the pool. They were throwing balls all over the pool area (dodge ball, apparently?!) and our two kids couldn't even find a safe spot to sit in the pool. No staff around monitoring and the noise level was so intolerable that we just gave up and left after an hour. The wait for the valet parking (a pricey $18 plus tip) was unbelievable. We waited at least 1/2 hour for our car. The hotel offered two options for parking, valet or paid/metered parking. We definitely wouldn't return to this hotel and will probably stick with a Marriott, where we usually have much better service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MommyofTwoGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for your disappointing experience at our hotel. We do appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback, which we take very seriously. We pride ourselves on providing an exceptional guest experience and will address the problems that you encountered in order to rectify the situation. I hope that you will give us another try.

Sincerely,
Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

A comparatively new hotel close to downtown Portsmouth. Rooms were decent and clean, basically what you would expect. I've stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn nearby as well and prefer that hotel because it comes with a kitchenette and living room area, as well as free breakfast, all for a similar price. But still had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Garden Inn and would still recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jellydoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel has a great location. Service was amazing. Staff was amazing. From the valet at check-in to the bartender everyone was terrific. Friendly, accomodating. What a hotel experience should be! I Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank BeachyMcGees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We used this hotel for sleeping rooms, a conference room, a gathering space and a general, all-around "location central" for a recent group planning a 50th reunion. The reservations process was seamless, the follow-up was exceptional, the flexibility on all aspects of the stay was superb and we were all generally very impressed. Everyone we encountered was polite, helpful, pleasant and seemed truly interested in making all our arrangements run smoothly. The location could not be any more central or convenient and we will definitely use the property again either for meetings or simply to return to Portsmouth to see all the things we had no time for on this trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VTWindyrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear that you were impressed with our hotel and that the services, amenities, and staff provided a convenient and comfortable stay. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel. The staff are some of the best I have experienced in any hotel - they simply could not be more helpful and attentive. The only exception was Mark the breakfast chef - who could not have been more unfriendly - shame as that was the only negative. The gym, bar and bedrooms were all good, the standard of cleanliness was faultless. Would definitely recommend and return

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windham, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

For the past 2 years we have spent Thanksgiving in Portsmouth at the Hilton Garden Inn. The Hotel is beautiful and the customer service exceptional. We went shopping at the outlets in Kittery in Maine at 10pm and then did Black Friday at Fox Run Mall. We had a wonderful buffet dinner also at the Sheraton. Just a great stay and time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
2.1 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing