We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for that weekend getaway or longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

An overnight stay on the 22nd and this hotel did not disappoint. An easy quick professional check-in and top floor room as I had requested. Yes you have to pay the $18/fee for valet parking, but parking at the property makes sense unless you want to park at a distant free municipal lot. Our room was very clean, comfortable and had a nice view to the north of the bridge. There was the mechanical noise from a nearby utility room, but with the bathroom door closed and room fan on it was a non-issue. I highly recommend this hotel for the convenient location in Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Do pick the top floor for the view and less noise. Avoid room 506 if possible for the noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a great hotel right in the heart of Portsmouth. Valet park for 18.00 overnight or park in the parking garage for 15.00 (next door). You can easily find metered parking around the hotel. The rooms are modern and clean and it has a nice bar and breakfast area. We stayed in a suite with two double beds and great views with huge windows. Room 341 is a big room with fantastic views. The only negative was that we had to ask for more towels and toilet paper. Not enough at the beginning of the stay. We also requested a cot which was comfortable and fit easily in the room. We were able to get an early check in as well. The staff is very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 341 is a corner room with two double beds and windows on two sides. Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 831meghana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel was immaculate as was the room. The staff was efficient and polite. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Room service was prompt, polite and the food was actually better than most of the places we ate at in town. Kudos!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

John,

Thank you for your recent stay and for offering valuable feedback. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, staff, and room service fare. We are happy to have earned your recommendation to the TripAdvisor community and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Portsmouth.

Sincerely,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

After a week of skiing at Sunday River, we wanted a place in the heart of Portsmouth on our way back to the Cape. We found garage parking, a delightful late lunch at the nearby Blue Mermaid Island Grill, and had a very central spot from which to explore the center of town on foot.

In the morning we dined in their breakfast room and I had eggs to order ( over medium on an English muffin ) just like home and the breakfast meats were plentiful.

Of course the rooms were up to Hilton standards which to us means a comfortable bed, quiet surroundings, and reliable internet. We would stay there again when we are in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drandbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review for TripAdvisor. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Portsmouth and that our accommodations and amenities provided you with a comfortable and convenient visit. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at the Hilton Garden Inn. From the moment the valet met us on our first day to the moment of checking out, we were greeted with warm, friendly faces. I called earlier that morning from home to ask for "the best king-sized" room they had as this was a special occasion. To my surprise, we were upgraded to HUGE suite - it was gorgeous and clean! I am extremely particular about hotel rooms....usually taking out my Clorox wipes before anyone is allowed to enter (ha ha). Didn't have to do this in this room. Only small complaint was that the used shampoo and bar of soap was never thrown out from the people previous to us.

The bed was welcoming and comfortable. The heat worked very well, no loud noises or clanking! We didn't hear anyone next door or in the halls.

The location is perfect - basically walk everywhere. We walked to the Portsmouth Brewery for diner the 1st night (which was yummy), then to Surf for the 2nd night (highly recommend)! The Friendly Toast was so delicious that we went there for both of our breakfasts'. The atmosphere and friendly waitresses were a plus.

Back to the Hilton - I would highly recommend this hotel as a place to stay in Portsmouth, NH with no hesitation. You can be sure we will be back again this summer!! Thank you Hilton!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a thorough review of your experience. We're so happy to have not only accommodated your needs, but to have provided you with a special stay for your special occasion. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our downtown location during your visit and explore everything beautiful Portsmouth has to offer. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again this summer.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My family had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Portsmouth. The hotel is beautiful with fireplaces, couches and large screen tvs sprinkled throughout the sprawling lobby. We even had adjoining rooms. A pleasant surprise! The staff was very helpful with recommendations of restaurants, nightlife and holding our luggage after check out. The valet service was very convenient and made our walking weekend trouble free. We'll be back next year and definitely try the hot tub!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Pamela,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear that you and your family had a great experience at our hotel and that you received first-class treatment from our staff. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again next year.

Sincerely,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

An excellent hotel right in the historic district of Portsmouth. Easy walking distance to attractions in a city where it is impossible to find a street parking spot Great valet parking service and very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Patrick,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We value your feedback and I'm happy to hear that you had an excellent stay and took advantage of our convenient downtown Portsmouth location. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we hope to host your next visit to Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
525 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £98 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing