We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Father's Day Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Have you ever wondered if the Chef who is working the breakfast shift is a Father? The Hilton Garden Inn employs a wonderful Chef and apparently he is so good there was a food critic there. When we arrived we wondered up to the line to order our breakfast. We were greeted by a Chef who was so polite, and friendly. He made us feel welcome and as though our order was the only one he had to cook, all the while he had about 6 other orders going at the same time. One of our party had a dairy intolerance, and he was able to accomodate her without any disruption to what he was doing. Despite the fast pace of that Father's day breakfast, the Chef put out food which was fantastic, flavorful and pleasing to the eye. He even made Mickey mouse pancakes for a little girl, which I'm sure made her happy.

Now back to the food critic, as we wrapped up our breakfast, I saw the food critic approach the line to speak with the Chef. Do you know who the food critic was? It was his 3 year old daughter, how do you know you ask - because she had a sign on her back "I'm the food critic and the Chef is my Dad!" Apparently she had come with her family to have breakfast with her DAD even if he was the one cooking. So the next time you go out, take time to wish that Chef, or anyone who is waiting on you during a holiday a happy day. I could see this Dad, was happy and proud even if he had to work.

I would recommend breakfast at the HIlton Garden in Portsmouth, NH to anyone who is looking for a friendly environment and a great Chef.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank D15ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to spend Father's Day with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you not only enjoyed our breakfast but enjoyed the service as well! We appreciate your recommendation to the travel community and will pass your compliments along to our staff.

Thanks,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Left Ipad and were immeadiately called to pick back up! Great front desk, wait staff and of course maid service! I will always stay at this Hilton Garden while in Porstmouth due to staff and great location to downtown area!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Michael,

Thank you for your 5-star recommendation to the travel community. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and convenient downtown location and that we've earned your future business. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel room was nice and very close to restaurants and shops. Easy walking distance to main square. Room was neat and clean however ice machine in hallway kept us awake. Would recommend not staying near vending area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were looking for a comfortable place to stay in the heart of the town and this was perfect for us. Very welcoming staff and the room was just what you expect from the Hilton. Could only wish that the fan in the air con was a little quieter. Happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elfinlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We frequently stay at HGIs around the country and this one is one of my favorites! It's in a great location, within walking distance to all of the fine restaurants and great shops of Portsmouth. The staff was very friendly and quick to get us checked in and up to our room. Sadly, it was quite rainy the weekend we were there but the staff was quick to provide an umbrella to anyone that needed one.

The rooms were a great size, clean and the Keurig in the room was a nice touch. Overall this is a great hotel, I have no complaints, which is rather rare in the hotel industry these days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_Patch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that in all your travels, our property is one of your favorite Hilton Garden Inns because of our convenient location in downtown Portsmouth and our friendly staff. We value your business and hope you'll make us your home away from home in Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We always stay at another hotel , but this time we choose Hilton, because there were 4 of us- my husband & 2 daughters, ages 23 & 21 and wanted 2 queen size bed..... Which would give us plenty of room. We received our request , & I questioned the bed size & they told us they were queen -but those beds were not queen size , not by my standards - a little disappointed .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Kara,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. We're sincerely sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit. The room types we have in the hotel are rooms with two queen size beds or 1 King. We do sometimes receive similar comments about the bed size because of all the pillows (both decorative & regular pillows) we have on the beds. I hope this won't deter you from visiting us again and giving us another opportunity to provide you with an excellent stay.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the HGI Portsmouth for a vow renewal the weekend of 6/6/14. The location is within easy walking distance of shopping, restaurants and the Harbor Tour. The staff was amazing! The front office clerk who checked us in was friendly and efficient. She remembered us by name the rest of the weekend. We were totally blown away by the restaurant staff!! The chef greeted us with a hearty good morning and made us feel so welcome. The servers were just as friendly - they genuinely wanted every guest to feel welcome and cared for. Every staff member from the young man who parked our car to the general manager greeted us with a friendly smile and asked if there was anything we needed. These people are the poster children for good service. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrsulaRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Marcia,

Thank you for choosing us to host your vow renewal and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that our staff was able to make an already a memorable occasion even more special for you and your spouse. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting your next visit to Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
498 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £108 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing