We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Hotel in a Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed here July 4-5th. The location is terrific for exploring downtown Portsmouth.

As a Hilton Honors Gold member, I had certain expectations that were immediately met upon coming in contact with the valet. The first impression the valet had on us was very positive as was the second impression at check-in which was handled by a very friendly and efficient young woman. Although I was only at this Hilton Garden Inn for one night, I came across numerous staff member who were all very friendly.

In addition to nice on-site amenities; cookies at reception and fruit flavored water, small but well equipped exercise room, pool and spa, and a full service bar, the hotel is in a fantastic location central to dozens of restaurants, shopping, galleries, etc. minutes by foot.

The room was sizable, and spotless clean and had a Keurig (w/a few coffee varieties), microwave and mini fridge. The bathroom was also very clean & well equipped.

Breakfast was above average. Great selection of hot and cold breakfast items. Some of the freshest fruit on the buffet(pineapple, raspberries, strawberries and melon). Cooked to order and served omelettes, pancakes, waffles... Very attentive wait staff!

Two things of dissatisfaction worth mentioning; the bed was horribly uncomfortable and the climate control cooled well, but was so loud when it "clicked" on, and cycled on/off all night long in 10 minute intervals, awful!

Valet Parking (only option) is a reasonable $18
Full Breakfast priced well at $11.95? (less expensive if ordered while booking a bed/breakfast option or with HHonors Member coupon).
For those not familiar with the area, this hotel is only a short drive to NH beaches and Southern Maine beaches and attractions and an hour's drive to Boston (without traffic).

Despite the bed and A/C and a lousy night's sleep, I highly recommend this Hilton Garden Inn.
If not for the bed and cooling system, this is hands down a rating of "5" for the staff, amenities and location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowieW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

I am a Hilton Honors member (Silver level) and, although I always expect a Hilton Garden Inn to be a good choice, this was an exceptional one. As we drove up, we were greeted by the valet who offered to get us a cart so we could bring our belongings to our room in one trip. He said there would be an $18 charge for parking but he took care of our new BMW.
The people at the front desk were friendly and waited for me to sign in while I grabbed a cookie! The room was large with many nice details and amenities--K cups for coffee so it was the best coffee I have ever had from a hotel room coffee maker, a holder for the soap for the bathroom sink and an indent with a drain for the soap holder in the shower.
The central location goes without saying. We have come to like Portsmouth as this our third trip to the city this year (the others we came just for the day) and will certainly make this hotel our home away from home whenever we come back to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieJoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Attived and had to pay an extra $18.00 to have the car parked for us but the front desk staff was very friendly as was the Valet, hotel was extremely clean and the location is perfect to downtown Portsmouth and within walking distance of everything you could possible ask for. The bed was somewhat tough on the back but the room was very clean and this hotel is one that if you ever plan on staying in the Portsomouth area the perfect one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank thomasc363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location, friendly staff, and clean facility. We appreciate your 5-star recommendation to the travel community and hope to have you back.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I came here for a business trip. Even it was a one night stay, I could sense that Portsmouth, NH would be a very busy summer tourist site. The town is very beautiful, and the hotel is right on the spot that will allow you to walk to nearby attractions and restaurants. The interior of the hotel is new with modern style. The room is very clean and comfortable. If i come back to this area, I will consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawalish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location, modern interior, and comfortable accommodations. We value your business and hope to host your next visit to Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel was conveniently located within walking distance to all the downtown attractions. Rooms were clean and breakfast was better than most Hilton Garden Inns (I am Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold and IHG Gold member - I travel quite a bit). Staff was helpful although valet parking (the only option) could take a few minutes. I would suggest you call from your room to have it ready when you get down.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Amado E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great location just a two minute walk from Bow Street. Very clean and well run hotel. Nice rooms and appears new. Very nice front desk staff, valet and breakfast servers. All around great stay. Would definitely recommend for business or pleasure. NICE PLACE!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Adam,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We're happy to have earned your recommendation to business and leisure travelers due to our clean, well run facility and attentive staff. We value your business and hope you'll make us your home away from home in Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Loved this beautiful hotel!! Our room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Loved all the pillows! The pool and hot tub was amazing. Loved the town of Portsmouth. We walked to everything. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby had a modern, beautiful, warm feel with a burning fireplace.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Amy,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful facility, comfortable accommodations, relaxing pool and hot tub, friendly staff, modern lobby, and of course, our downtown Portsmouth location! We appreciate your recommendation to the travel community and hope you'll make us your home away from home in Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
512 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £92 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing