We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Service and cleanliness were impeccable. The employee cleaning the lobby was using a small lint brush to get every last piece of dust. Truly amazing. Everyone was friendly andpleasant and efficient. Asked for clean towels and they arrived in seconds, not kidding.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

David,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on our service and cleanliness and are happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and our property clean. We appreciate your recommendation to the travel community and hope you'll make us your home away from home in Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was a quality hotel with excellent front desk service. The bar closes early - around 10 - so don't expect to wind down there. However, so much around you why depend on a hotel bar anyway? Beware of parking charges here - very pricy. We found a place on the street and paid two hours and then had the night free and re parked in the morning. This Hilton has the usual very comfortable firm beds and clean rooms. Pool is okay though somewhat small. Hot tub was actually hot. I'm happy. Again, location to all the quaint streets and shops makes this THE place to stay.
Really appreciated the in- room frig too

Room Tip: Just remember to ask about parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Elizabeth,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you consider us THE place to stay in Portsmouth—we agree! We value your business and look forward to providing you with more 5-star stays in the future.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is an excellent place to stay. It is very modern, updated, staff are excellent. The rooms are adequate size, granite in the shower surround. The bathroom, hotel room and entire hotel facility was very clean. Smells good. No musty smells. Everything was in good working order. Second time I've stayed here, and will do so again. Portsmouth is very small, for a city, but this is perfectly located to walk to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Heather,

Thank you for your return patronage of our hotel and for reviewing your experience for the TripAdvisor community. We're happy to have earned your 5-star recommendation as an excellent place to stay in Portsmouth and look forward to hosting your next visit.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Cons:
- room HVAC during the night twice switched from A/C to heat by itself and ran the room temperature up to 80 degrees which woke us up twice - took awhile of toggling the thermostat to get the A/C back working

- the hotel overcharged us $37 from our on-line third party registration confirmation. The hotel has refused to refund the difference and Booking.com says it is the hotel's responsibility. We are currently in limbo but still pursuing a resolution

- no convenient parking

- parking is VERY expensive in this town. We found Newburyport, Rockland, and Stonington to be more tourist friendly

- no reasonably priced breakfast, you have to walk to town

Pros:
- room was fine

- Natalia quickly refunded our parking to compensate for the HVAC problem, she was very apologetic

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCLowcountrySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. We sincerely apologize for the problems you experienced with the AC and are happy to hear that Natalia compensated you for the inconvenience. In regard to the Booking.com overcharge, it was due to a clerical error on Booking.com's part and we've since refunded the charge but apologize for the inconvenience nonetheless. I hope you'll stay with us again and give us another opportunity to provide you with a 5-star stay.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here over 4th of July weekend and enjoyed our stay. The hotel was full, but the noise was minimal. Mini-fridge worked fine but was noisy and bed was mediocre. The positives out weigh these few negatives. Check out the Earth Eagle Brewery less than 100 feet from the hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel can't be beat in Portsmouth, and there are only two other options with similar locales - the Sheraton and Residence Inn. I hope both are better than this place. Our room on the 5th floor was on the small side and the worst part was the musty smell thanks to an air conditioner that could only pump our cold, clamy air. So in the summer, plan to either roast or wake up freezing and sticky, because you can't open the windows. Our poor baby couldn't stop sneezing but was somehow always drenched in perspiration. The decor is blah and a little bit tired. The fridge keeps everything lukewarm and the freezer is a joke. Decent shower. Overall, a meh choice but great location.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank cemckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to offer valuable feedback. While we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown Portsmouth location, we sincerely apologize for the discomfort caused by the AC. We value your business and hope you'll give us another opportunity to provide you with a 5-star stay.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed here July 4-5th. The location is terrific for exploring downtown Portsmouth.

As a Hilton Honors Gold member, I had certain expectations that were immediately met upon coming in contact with the valet. The first impression the valet had on us was very positive as was the second impression at check-in which was handled by a very friendly and efficient young woman. Although I was only at this Hilton Garden Inn for one night, I came across numerous staff member who were all very friendly.

In addition to nice on-site amenities; cookies at reception and fruit flavored water, small but well equipped exercise room, pool and spa, and a full service bar, the hotel is in a fantastic location central to dozens of restaurants, shopping, galleries, etc. minutes by foot.

The room was sizable, and spotless clean and had a Keurig (w/a few coffee varieties), microwave and mini fridge. The bathroom was also very clean & well equipped.

Breakfast was above average. Great selection of hot and cold breakfast items. Some of the freshest fruit on the buffet(pineapple, raspberries, strawberries and melon). Cooked to order and served omelettes, pancakes, waffles... Very attentive wait staff!

Two things of dissatisfaction worth mentioning; the bed was horribly uncomfortable and the climate control cooled well, but was so loud when it "clicked" on, and cycled on/off all night long in 10 minute intervals, awful!

Valet Parking (only option) is a reasonable $18
Full Breakfast priced well at $11.95? (less expensive if ordered while booking a bed/breakfast option or with HHonors Member coupon).
For those not familiar with the area, this hotel is only a short drive to NH beaches and Southern Maine beaches and attractions and an hour's drive to Boston (without traffic).

Despite the bed and A/C and a lousy night's sleep, I highly recommend this Hilton Garden Inn.
If not for the bed and cooling system, this is hands down a rating of "5" for the staff, amenities and location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowieW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
502 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £106 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing