We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awsome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
okeana, United States
1 review
“Awsome Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I give this hotel four and a half stars! The room was clean. Pool and hot tub was great. Also the fitness center was good.The free internet was awsome.The only bad thing was no breakfeast. But i would still recomend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Sandra,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review! We look forward to hosting your next visit to Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    342
    56
    34
    13
See reviews for
267
461
45
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Great service all around. The restaurant had a great breakfast and was very reasonably priced. The meeting room was ready and set up perfectly. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Mary,

There's nothing better than providing our guests with a great stay AND earning their recommendation to others. We're happy to hear that our wonderful staff and great facility made an impression on you and we hope you'll make us your home away from home in Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I have been staying at this hotel once or twice a year for a decade. We've tried a couple others in the area but always return to this HGI. It is clean and the staff are welcoming but the topper is the location - just steps away from the main tourist area of Portsmouth.

We stayed here on a getaway last weekend and noticed they may have upgraded the bedding recently - our bed was among the most comfortable I have ever slept on anywhere.

As long as we live in New England we will keep coming back to this hotel. One tip: there is a large municipal parking garage a half block away from the entrance of the hotel. It's just as convenient as the valet (maybe more so) and saves a few dollars for a treat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a late night check in at this hotel on our way to Maine. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable. One negative was the parking. Free parking for the hotel is on the street which is difficult to find. If you can't find a spot on the street you pay for valet parking.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the hallway on the third floor. We did not hear a bit of noise at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRANDERSON2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,273 reviews
299 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Walking distance from the harbour, restaurants and attractions, this hotel is in a great location.

My room was a very spacious corner room with views over the quaint neighbourhood.

The bed and pillows, shower and towels were standard HGI fare - just okay.

The room had a microwave, fridge, Keurig coffee maker, work desk & chair, free wifi and easy chairs, but no iPod dock.

Breakfast wasn't included with the room but was available and it was decent hotel food, but with so many restaurants nearby I suggest you venture out and explore the fabulous food scene.

There's valet parking for a daily fee, but also a parking station on the corner that charges $0.75/hr.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Everything is expensive in Portsmouth. This is the best HGI I have stayed in in the Northeastern US. I travel lot for work and often stay here on my way home from Maine because it's nice to break up the drive and walk around Portsmouth. This doesn't feel like your average HGI. It's more high end. But it is a chain hotel so for those looking for luxury, look elsewhere. The front desk staff were very professional and the place is clean- often hard to find when you travel to a lot of small towns and cities. Parking is a problem throughout the city so having the choice of a valet is nice. The valet was very accommodating when I checked out and kept my car all day so I could walk around and shop (at no additional charge. I suppose $18 might seem like a lot to some but when compared to Boston or NYC it's not. Don't bother with side street meter parking unless you want to run back to your car every 30 min and put quarters in the meter. I have stayed in the other chains in Portsmouth and will come back to this hotel whenever possible when the rates are not cost prohibitive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrtle615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

For my business trips I always stay at the Hilton Garden Inn in Portsmouth. The rooms are clean and the staff is courteous. Walking distance to all the restaurants and bars in Portsmouth. Breakfast was good with multiple choices and the bar area is comfortable to have a drink in. For folks that may not know the valet is $18 a day.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are bigger than the average hotel size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing