We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They made it right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at this great downtown Portsmouth location. A favorite for us, as we like to walk to local restaurants and bars and avoid driving any distances. On the second nights stay, we had friends that were also scheduled to stay for just one night. There was a problem for them upon check-in because the reservation some how got amended when we came in a day earlier, which caused their reservation to get cancelled. The hotel manager worked diligently on correcting the mistake and making it right. In the end, we stayed, they got their room and the hotel sent a bottle of champagne to our rooms for the inconvenience. The whole staff was very professional and accommodating. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Kim,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star recommendation to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that our excellent downtown location and accommodating staff have earned us your business and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2014

Our trip here was to enjoy a couple of days away. We spent the time in the area using the public tennis courts and visiting the local restaurants. The hotel is in a perfect location and provides visitors with the opportunity to step in for a bit of down time with minimal trekking.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dennis,

Thank you for choosing us to host your recent getaway. We're happy to hear that you took advantage of our convenient downtown location to enjoy everything that Portsmouth has to offer. We appreciate your 5-star recommendation to fellow travelers and we hope to have you back.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in August. Past experiences have taught me that Hilton garden inns are usually very clean and comfortable. However once again the garden inn proved better than expected. This hotel is renovating one floor at a time without guest interruption. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Beautiful lobby area with bar and restaurant. We stayed in renovated king suite on 5th floor with separate living room area which was perfect for our 3 night stay. Comfortable bed with huge bathroom and quiet. Breakfast provided ample right down to any style eggs. The location was also perfect for walking around town with plenty of shops, restaurants and other site seeing venues. Portsmouth is a wonderful historic. port town. Clean and safe. Nightlife offers live bands. You must take a ride up the picturesque coast as well.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pmv16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that our accommodating staff, comfortable accommodations, and excellent location exceeded your expectations for your visit. We value your business and hope you'll make us your home away from home in Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel was modern and clean. Room was spotless and bed was very comfortable. Very good size and had a mini fridge, micro and stocked keurig. Staff was very friendly, although I still have a tough time when the phone takes priority over the guest at the counter. But it wasn't enough to make me hesitate recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohnnyB234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Johnny,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We value your feedback and appreciate your understanding regarding the busy phones at the front desk. Thank you for your business and we look forward to hosting your next stay.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Very nice location for visiting downtown attractions. We were looking for a hotel that we could park at and not worry about driving for the weekend. This hotel fit the bill, it was centrally located within walking distance to all of downtown. This was in a very safe neigborhood, we felt comfortable walking all around downtown. Staff was very freindly and accomodating. Portsmouth was a fun town to visit, we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RiverRatLisbon_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel and the check in and check out were super easy. The property was very clean and the staff was very friendly. We had breakfast at the hotel before we started our day, this was quick and efficient. We loved being across the street from the Blue Mermaid Island Grill - they had great happy hour specials from 3-6 weekday and really tasty food!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbkitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Welcoming and professional staff, super comfy beds and pillows, sparkling bathroom and great breakfast, all go to make a perfect weekend in Portsmouth. I stay regularly for work, so for a weekend that I paid for myself, it was excellent value for money !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Catriona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Catriona,

Thank you for your loyal patronage of our hotel and for choosing to spend your leisure weekend with us. We're happy to hear that our welcoming staff, wonderful accommodations, and convenient location have earned us your 5-star recommendation to fellow travelers. We value your business and look forward to hosting your next visit to Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
499 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £109 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing