We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Perfect location in Portsmouth. The staff was very courteous and friendly and went out of their way to be helpful with restaurants, directions, sightseeing, etc. Even had homemade cookies in the lobby during the afternoons and evenings. The rooms were very nice with very comfortable beds. Also had an indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. The hotel was in the downtown area, very close to all of the charming shops and restaurants. We enjoyed a Thanksgiving buffet in the hotel restaurant, which was exceptional. Great place to stay, and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lagunanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    355
    56
    34
    14
See reviews for
281
483
47
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

It was so convenient and close to everything. The location of where you stay sets the mood. We chose to walk most often. Staff were very nice and tried to accommodate requests. Reasonably clean. We felt it was a value at $129 the rate we got last minute on the Hilton website, but would not have been thrilled at $229, the rate seen on the Hilton website a week earlier.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heirai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Hotel was very clean and quite. Walking distance for many shops and restaurants. Only downfall was no parking so we had to pay a valet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turtle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I agree with the other reviewers who noted the outstanding friendly, personal service. All of the hotel parking is valet, which I normally don't care for, but the car was ready almost immediately so it was a pleasure. My wife and I were running in the Portsmouth Half-marathon, so we asked at check-in and received a slightly later check-out to have time to shower and rest after the race. The room was comfortable and I could see if I was staying there on business, the desk and chair would have been great. Even the room's wall art - black-and-white photos or nautical gear - reflected the seaport location without being trite or bland.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We stayed here at the start of our New England trip and can't fault the hotel. Great location, friendly staff, valet parking for $12 a night, large rooms, good choice at breakfast (costs extra unless you've got a voucher) great pancakes. Great choice for our first 2 nights!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingNicx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

I'm a diamond VIP member of HHonors, and recently used some points to stay in Portsmouth at the HGI, on our way to another location. Great location, and property. I have stayed many times on business. However, I guess when you book using points you do not get the same service. BE AWARE, if you're using points, or staying over a holiday of any sorts. We arrived at 1:45pm, and with my status at Hilton I usually get an early check in. It was very busy and our room was not available.... I can understand this. Check in is at 3pm. We went out for lunch with two kids ready to get into the room, hit the pool, etc.... exactly what they didn't want to do. We came back to the hotel at 4:15 and still no room. They had rooms, but the room we specified was not available, even though 3 hrs earlier they said they would get the room cleaned for us.

Unfortunately this is not the first time this has happened to us, when using points on travel. I don't know if they put you at the bottom of the list of priorities, or it's just dumb luck, but it's pretty frustrating being such a loyal patron.

As my wife said, we should start investigating marriott properties to see how the service is there.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank DJG1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Dear DJG1022

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your thoughts regarding your recent visit with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown. We value this type of feedback as a tool to continuously improve our systems and procedures. I can certainly understand your frustration when your room was not ready, especially the second time you came to the desk.

I will admit that weekends can be challenging as guests are eager to check in, while those checking out are in no rush, thus our housekeeping department is pressured to clean rooms as quickly as possible. That being said, we have worked hard to ensure we accommodate all of our guests in a timely fashion, while meeting their room requests. Regardless of how one pays for their room, we strive to treat each guest as a VIP.

Please know we take your comments seriously and have discussed with our staff ways to improve our process. From your comments, future guests will be less apt to encounter this frustration. I hope you will allow us another visit so that we may prove our dedication to you, our guests.

Sincerely,

Ron Rockelein
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Our experience at this hotel was very consistent with the TripAdvisor reviews that we read up on before we made our reservations. Friendly staff, easy check in, a nice and fairly new bulding and perfect location for walking the city.

Friday night, the hotel bar had a wonderful guitar player (Curt Bessette) and a young lady singer entertain with vintage 60"s/70's folk and jazz.

Right next to the hotel is a small convenience store and the owner actually took the time to give us directions to the ferry and offered to provide us with his opinion on any of the many local places in town.

There are many places to eat and drink with some right on the water and all within easy walking distance. If you are new to the area get a map so you won't miss the opportunity to check them all out.

We had a very good time at this hotel and plan to come back.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RPeterMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing