We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice homey room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice homey room”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here while visiting our son for the holidays. I picked the hotel because of the comfortable suite rooms which we thought would be nice for our long weekend. The bed was very comfortable and we both slept well after several days of traveling and very little sleep. The hotel seemed well maintained and the staff helpful. The location was convenient enough to everything to make free parking a definite bonus, since all downtown hotels had paid parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dewdropinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    200
    60
    18
    12
See reviews for
354
228
21
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This was our first stay at the Homewood Suites and we enjoyed it so much we booked in the following night in Wilmington, Delaware. The room was spacious. Front desk staff was very welcoming. We were happy to enjoy the dinner they provided. It wasn't fancy, but the salad bar was very fresh and the lasagne was fine too. It was nice after driving all day, not to have to look for a place to eat dinner, and it more than satisfied our needs.

Breakfast the next morning was perfect. Excellent Greek yogurt, fruit and scrambled eggs kept us full until lunch.

We would definitely recommend the Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joytrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The rooms are nice, having a kitchen was great. The rooms are dated and could use new bathrooms, but it was clean and everything was working. The pool is very small, we were with a big group and took over the entire pool. This worked for us but I could see it could be a problem for others.

Breakfast is what you would expect from the chain. The food at night was just OK, I would not go there for the food but it was convenient not having to leave at night - it was snowing during our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a great time. If the bathrooms were updated this would be a four + star review.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Out_running
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The customer service was exceptional. I enjoyed the complementary breakfast, as well as the evening wine and food. The suites were nice and clean. I was pleased to see a full size refrigerator instead of a mini-frige which is usually in hotels. I was also impressed with the stovetop range. When you first arrive at the hotel it seems to be off to itself, but it is only minutes from downtown Portsmouth.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaReisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This hotel was "over the top" in meeting our expectations! Our room & the public areas were exceptionally clean, and in excellent condition. Its location was perfect -- close enough to shopping & restaurants to be convenient, but far enough removed from the general hustle-bustle to offer a quiet & relaxing atmosphere. Can't say enough good things about the breakfasts -- we were totally impressed with the offerings AND the quality! While our room was adequate for our needs, I was surprised to find it smaller than the one pictured when I made my selection online.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksimpson009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We discovered this property a couple years ago and as it is about an hour away from where we live and in the beautiful town of Portsmouth lends itself to be the perfect place for a romantic weekend getaway. This hotel would also be the perfect place for someone who is here on business and staying for a long period of time as the rooms are all suites.

All the rooms have a kitchen with full size fridge, microwave, stove, and dishwasher done in stainless steel. Some of the rooms have a separate living room as well, but they all have a seating area with a pull out couch. The flat screen 32 inch TVs are a nice touch and the beds are very comfortable and the pillows are the best. I have never experienced any bad odors or a dirty room here. We really couldn’t be happier with the accommodations.

We also have had the same housekeeper over the course of the last couple years and she spends a long time in each suite cleaning and is also helpful if we need anything at all. Anytime we have needed something like a room change the manager's have always been very accommodating. One year we went up for my fiancés birthday and when they saw me bringing in the balloons and gifts sent us a bottle of champagne on the house.

They offer a free shuttle service to anywhere in a three mile radius so if you want to go downtown and shop, dine, or enjoy a few drinks this is the way to go. The shuttle will also bring you to the Outlets in Kittery Maine right over the border and if you enjoy getting a good deal on shopping this is a must see. They will drop you off wherever you like and if you call the hotel they are usually there within ten minutes to pick you up. The shuttle ends at 10:30 pm so if you are out for some late night cocktails such as the Thirsty Moose Tap House with their 160 beers on tap you can take a cab back to the hotel for 7 bucks plus tip.

Every morning they have a free hot breakfast with scrambled eggs and bacon or sausage and home fries. They also have two waffle makers that make fresh waffles as well as cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, and fresh fruits and breads.

The hotel also has a pool and this is why I didn’t give it a rating of excellent. Every time we have stayed here the pool is always cold. I have spoken with other guests while down there and they also agreed with me. I have mentioned it in the past but it never changes so now we don't even bother going down there. It’s a shame because they go through the expense of having it but then make it too cold to enjoy.

They a gym with all the equipment that you would expect and a business center with computers and a printer that come in handy for printing coupons for outlet shopping. They don't have room service although there are several restaurants that offer delivery service to your room. I suggest the Kim Lai for good Chinese food, reasonable prices, and prompt delivery.

All in all we love this hotel and will continue to come time and time again. A warmer pool, a hot tub for relaxing after a long day on your feet shopping, and a bar are the only suggestions I could come up with to make this place better.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrcostanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

One of the reasons we always choose Hilton properties is the freshly laundered duvet for each guest - unless it is a Homewood Suites property! Alas. The accommodating manager, however, gave us two freshly laundered blankets to substitute for the quilt already on the bed. The room itself was comfortable and smelled nearly neutral, just a faint cleaning products smell and a tiny whiff of mildew in the kitchen and bathroom. The kitchen was well-equipped. Breakfast was fine - not just carbs, but fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, yogurt.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccdjml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
477 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Address: 100 Portsmouth Blvd, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3178
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new all suite property. Free internet access. Flat screen televisions in every room. Complimentary breakfast all week. Complimentary light dinner Monday-Thursday. Swimming pool and fitness area. 625 foot meeting room. Business center. 2 minute drive to downtown Portsmouth. 5 minute drive to Pease Tradeport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Homewood Suites Portsmouth
Hilton Portsmouth
Homewood Portsmouth
Portsmouth Homewood Suites
Portsmouth Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing