We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good launching point for Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Houlton, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good launching point for Boston”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Our kids were flying into Logan/Boston on the red-eye, and we needed a place to split the difference from northern Maine. Have never thought of Portsmouth, but this was excellent! The rate was much less than Portland, ME area, we LOVE Homewood Suites, and this one is one of the reasons why. The desk was very friendly, personable, accommodating and fun as we tried to pull ourselves away from the wonderful fire place. They offered the shuttle to get us to a good restaurant, since we arrived too late for the in-house dinner. It's very easy on/off I-95, close to shopping, restaurants, downtown~ excellent location, the cheapest gas prices I've seen in awhile, and less than an hour in to Boston. The room was predictably clean, quiet, well-supplied, very comfortable on a cold night, great king bed, good heat, etc. Breakfast was excellent, with eggs, bacon, oatmeal, waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereals, etc. A very helpful, friendly staff supplied us with hot sauce for the eggs, and we left very satisfied. We'll definitely do this again when we need to get in and out of Boston quickly.

Room Tip: This hotel is well off the noise of any street or highway, so any room will be a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear that you found our facilities convenient and our staff accommodating. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Portsmouth and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you for your recommendation.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    205
    60
    19
    14
See reviews for
370
232
22
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We chose the Homewood Suites based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, and it certainly lived up to its reputation. In spite of its large size, the property feels homey and cozy, with a very appealing lobby area that makes you want to sit and relax by the fireplace. (In fact, we did exactly that on a very snowy Sunday.) The inviting atmosphere of the hotel is matched by the extremely friendly attitude of the staff members. Every single person with whom we dealt at the hotel was warm and helpful, which really made us feel welcome. The customer service orientation of the staff is evident in everything they do.

The room itself was pretty amazing for the price. We chose the "open concept" studio, which was enormous and well-laid out, with two large windows that provided a nice view and plenty of light. It even includes a full-sized dishwasher! We liked the fact that the bathroom vanity was separate from the tub and toilet. The bed is wonderfully comfortable, with soft and inviting high-end linens. Since this is a new property, everything felt clean and modern.

The breakfast buffet has a limited range of standard breakfast fare, but everything was very fresh and well-prepared (the bacon was particularly good!). The laundry was a very welcome bonus after we had been on the road for a while (although $2 per washer and dryer cycle is a bit steep).

The heating/cooling units made a great deal of noise when they were operating, which was annoying. Even though it was very cold during our stay, we kept the room at a fairly low temperature during the night so that the heat would not come on and off and wake us up.

Where the hotel falls short (and the reason I'm not giving it five stars) is the housekeeping (or lack thereof). After our room had been made up, we could barely tell that it had been cleaned. The bed was not really made properly, and it seemed as though the sheets had simply been pulled up. It looked really sloppy, and the sheets came untucked as soon as we got into bed. It was pretty clear that the room had not been vacuumed, and there was no evidence that the tables and counters had been wiped down thoroughly. The bathroom did seem reasonably clean, but not up to the standard I would expect of a Hilton property. The low housekeeping standard didn't ruin our stay, because we really enjoyed every other aspect of the hotel--but it was really a disappointment.

The location of the Homewood Suites is a bit odd (in the middle of a business park), but it was very close to shopping and dining and accessible to both Portsmouth and other towns in the region. Since it is a bit out of town, parking was plentiful and easy, and the location turned out to be ideal for us.

We will likely stay here again based on the location, value, service and overall quality of the property, but I hope the hotel will try harder with its housekeeping services.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wbpld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

A coworker and myself had to stay the night in the town we work as there was a snow storm coming in and were not sure we'd be able to commute well in the morning. Check in was great and we stayed in a double queen room. Very spacious, clean and smelled fresh! Very close to many restaurants and even though it was snowing the hotel didnt delay in shuttling us to the restaurant of our choosing. Nice touch in the room was the 'serviced by' card placed on the table with the name of the housekeeper whom set up the room for our arrival! Clean bathroom, comfortable beds, and easy to use heating. Staff was friendly and never failed to ask how we were doing and smile. Stayed on the 4th floor so there was no noise of guest above us nor did we hear anything from surrounding rooms. Staff was out clearing side walks throughtout the snow. Breakfast was a nice selection and we will certainly not hestiate to stay again if the need arises.

Room Tip: Top floor no people walking above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fawn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review of our hotel. We value guest feedback and appreciate you sharing your experience. I'm pleased to hear that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay. Thanks for recommending us and we hope you'll visit us again soon.

Best,
Joshua Smith, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very clean! The beds were comfortable. Sarah at the desk was pleasant and called the room a bit after check in to make sure we were pleased with the accommodations. Breakfast was included and they had a nice selection of eggs ham toast cereal muffins etc!
We enjoyed our stay and will use this hotel again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jiggy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingdale
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A beautiful hotel with all of the amenities that I need as a business traveler with extended stay needs. The hotel was clean and very comfortable. Also a great value compared to other hotels in the area. Having a full kitchen is a huge convenience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Raymond,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm pleased to hear that we were able to meet your extended stay needs. Please come back and see us again soon.

Best,
Joshua Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We wanted a suite style hotel to celebrate a significant birthday party with friends who live in the Portsmouth area. We did not need to be downtown so this locality was ideal and easy to get to. We found shopping for the party necessities quite simple because all the markets and shops are only a few minutes away. It was noted that the area had changed since we there 13 years ago. The suite was adequate for the 15 people that came, but we required more chairs and dishes than the room originally had. The hotel staff brought us the required number of both in a very timely manner. The small kitchen also had every thing we required, full size refrigerator, two burner cook top, dishwasher, and large microwave. Although we were not loud, just normal conversation, I don't think people in the room next to us were disturbed. The people at the desk gave us a room on the first floor behind the elevators so it was naturally isolated, quiet and easy for our guests to find. Buffet breakfast was included. Although we did not go into town it is only about two miles away. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate your special occasion and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Joshua Smith, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport news, va, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The staff at the hotel is always helpful and polite. I have stayed at this hotel off and on for the last 4 years and never had a bad stay. there food at both breakfast and dinner is always fresh and served before the posted times. My stays has always been excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stanley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Address: 100 Portsmouth Blvd, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3178
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new all suite property. Free internet access. Flat screen televisions in every room. Complimentary breakfast all week. Complimentary light dinner Monday-Thursday. Swimming pool and fitness area. 625 foot meeting room. Business center. 2 minute drive to downtown Portsmouth. 5 minute drive to Pease Tradeport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Homewood Suites Portsmouth
Hilton Portsmouth
Homewood Portsmouth
Portsmouth Homewood Suites
Portsmouth Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing