We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy place to stay in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Easy place to stay in town”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Brand new hotel an easy five minute walk to the center of town. Clean comfortable place. Business amenities make this an easy place to stay.hot breakfast is a bonus. Since parking is scarce in town the hotel charges $18 for overnight parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to our brand new property and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that all of your needs were accommodated during your stay and that we've earned your 5-star recommendation to the travel community. We value your business and hope you'll make us your home away from home in Portsmouth.

Best,
Mohammed Choudhury, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    145
    27
    4
    2
See reviews for
187
362
19
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was just opened a week ago. Despite this, the bathroom had hair in the tub and the sheets on our bed needed to be changed upon arrival because they were stained. I attribute this to the hotel being woefully understaffed. The poor desk manager had to act as the bartender, concierge and receptionist. Not worth 330 a night!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortsmouthBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with the cleanliness of your room; we didn't receive any complaints regarding housekeeping and would certainly have addressed the problem right away if we had. I encourage you to reach out to me directly at the hotel to discuss any issues you may have had with your stay so that we can rectify them. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we use any opportunity to improve upon the guest experience. We hope you'll visit us again and give us another opportunity to provide you with a 5-star stay.

Best,
Mohammed Choudhury, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

What a cool place with modern, yet cool and soothing decor both in the lobby and in the rooms. Clean, comfortable, friendly and very affordable considering what other hotels are charging in the immediate area. I would recommend a stay here for business or pleasure. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Kevin,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for being one of the first to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We're so pleased by the reception we've received from our guests so far and are happy to have earned your recommendation to friends, family, and the travel community. We hope you'll make us your home away from home in Portsmouth and look forward to hosting your next visit.

Best,
Mohammed Choudhury, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We love Portsmouth NH and now love the new Hampton Hotel, brand new and beautiful!! The location is in the heart of downtown, walkable to all our favorite shops and resturants. We were pleasantly surprised at the newly devloped area and how nice the hotel is. Our kids loved the pool, it was a perfect mini getaway. I wish the rooms were a bit bigger for our family of 4.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Susan,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for reviewing your experience for the TripAdvisor community. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our brand new facility and convenient downtown location and that your kids enjoyed the pool. We value your business and hope you'll make us your home away from home in Portsmouth.

Best,
Mohammed Choudhury, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Hampton Inn and Suites Portsmouth NH is a great choice for those traveling along the New Hampshire / Maine coast. Basically you'll love it, think of it as a luxury experience from Hilton and the Hampton brand. Go for it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
William,

Thank you for your 5-star recommendation to the travel community. We're pleased to hear that you consider us to be the best lodging option in Portsmouth and we look forward to hosting your next visit.

Best,
Mohammed Choudhury, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Gorgeous hotel. Very well constructed and beautifully decorated. Arrived a little bit later to the hotel, but walking in we were greeted with excitement and smiles! Extremely welcoming front desk agent and a class act Manager!! They were so helpful in any questions asked and I wish I got both of their names but I was to overwhelmed with the beauty of the hotel! It has all amenities you need and very modern at that! I wish I could stay here forever! Keep it up guys you've done a great job!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashackford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for being one of our very first guests and for taking the time to write one of our first TripAdvisor reviews! The staff here are all excited to accommodate our guests' needs and to introduce them to our beautiful new hotel. We're happy to hear that the excitement was contagious and that you were overwhelmed by the beauty of the property and the hospitality of the staff. We value your business and hope you'll make us your home away from home in Portsmouth.

Best,
Mohammed Choudhury, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is brand new; just opened three days ago. I can't rave about it enough. It's decorated beautifully; truley like a luxury hotel. Obvioulsy the rooms are meticously cleam but also beautifully decorated; contemporary and spotless.
I wish I could name all of the staff by name(it would take to long and I wouldn't want to leave anyone out since they've all been great) to credit each person for how nice and accomadating everyone is; from the manager to the front desk staff, housekeeping, the breakfast staff and the car valets.
Of course, like with any brand new establishment there have been a few glitches(like the computer sytem going down for a short time) but the staff was sincerely apologetic, empathetic and over compensated for any disruptions. I've already recommended this hotel to my friends and we plan to be returning often.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for being one of our very first guests and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our luxurious facility and accommodating staff and that we've earned your recommendation to friends, family, and the travel community. We value your 5-star rating and look forward to hosting your future visits to Portsmouth.

Best,
Mohammed Choudhury, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Address: 23 Portwalk Place, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3998
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prime location of this new Hampton Inn & Suites puts you in the historic waterfront district of downtown Portsmouth within walking distance of shopping, dining and attractions. Guests enjoy spacious rooms and suites with free WiFi, a heated indoor salt water pool and free hot breakfast each morning to start the day off right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing