We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inventive and creative, but expensive”

Black Trumpet Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Trumpet Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Inventive and creative, but expensive”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a post-graduation dinner for my daughter's Pinning ceremony here. The food is very innovative, marrying flavors you wouldn't think of going together. The food is delicious, but expensive and in small portions ala fine cuisine. I had a Berber Burger which was angus beef with lamb. Very tasty, but at $19.00, I dunno. We had some goat cheese platters that came with little tiny melba toasts for 9 bucks apiece with a small amount of cheese. I guess the theme here is, if you're there to eat a lot, go somewhere else. If you want good gourmet food and ain't afraid to lay out some cash, this is the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Basswelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    64
    38
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food through and through”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

In town from New York City and was highly impressed by the quality and price of this incredible dinner. We enjoyed all courses but by far the best was the house special Seafood Paella. Wow. Incredible, fresh farm to table ingredients, a lovely rustic, romantic atmosphere and our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. In addition they made an excellent very well balanced Old Fashioned. This was by far the best we had throughout our travels in New England, something we tend to be very choosing about.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PS_Sari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye Beach, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Service”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Go to the cozy wine bar upstairs an hour before your reservation. Exceptional service, romantic atmoshere in this 18th century mercantile building. Unique dishes with just the right portion. I really enjoyed the skirt steak--exceptional.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TDH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent first experience”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Three of us ate at Black Trumpet this evening for my wife's birthday, and we can see why Evan Mallett has such a strong reputation. All of the food was excellent: for appetizers, we tried the meze plate and the fried oysters; for main courses, we tried the chicken, the steak, and the lamb shortrib; and for dessert we tried a new item which sounded unusual (something like red quinoa coconut milk pudding) but turned out to be delicious. We also found the ambience quite appealing - it's a very nice room, and although the restaurant was pretty full, we had no trouble hearing each other and didn't have to raise our voices. The restaurant is not inexpensive, but it's better and nicer than many other places with similar prices, so I consider it a good value. We expect to eat there again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MM7NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“totally overrated”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Burger served RAW. Bland food at ridiculous prices. Based on previous reviews something has gone terribly wrong here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marcopoloSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Trumpet Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Black Trumpet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing