We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOT CHOCOLATE”

Breaking New Grounds
Ranked #1 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
537 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“BEST HOT CHOCOLATE”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

When travelling through Portsmouth, I make it a point to come to this coffee shop as many times as I can. They have, by far, the best hot chocolate I have ever had. The place doesn’t really need my endorsement, as it is always crowded – everybody loves it! Be sure to go here if you find yourself in Portsmouth!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tczig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    51
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rollinsford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quintessential Coffee Shop”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

If you enjoy coffee or espresso drinks, this is your place to go in downtown Portsmouth. Conveniently located in Market Square, you can walk here from any of the great restaurants for an after dinner latte, early morning pick-me-up, or any time coffee. You will find they use quality products and offer lots of in and outdoor seating to chat and take in the Portsmouth scene.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanServo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
640 reviews
430 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Charming and local.”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

It's our favorite little cafe in Portsmouth. Right in the center of downtown, we alway stop here to warm up or grab a coffee when we’re in Portsmith. Great coffee and great vibe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kipp7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Local spot with no local feel”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Most expensive coffee in town? Isn't this the local spot? Feels like a mall food-court... believe it or not you can get cheaper coffee at Starbucks. Great selection but almost 5 bucks for a latte? Doesn't really fit the bill for what you'd expect from a local coffee shop. Vonsolln and Kilim are better choices with not less optimal locations than breaking new grounds. In store roaster is nice touch and employees are fairly friendly... other than that it's just overpriced beans.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johndryden41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level Contributor
224 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Super strong coffee”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Stopped in here during a road trip up to Maine. I like the cute coffee shop vibe. The coffee is super strong. I got the light house blend and had to put in a lot of cream. I also got a pecan cinnamon roll which was very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breaking New Grounds also viewed

 

Been to Breaking New Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing