We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Popovers On The Square

Popovers On The Square
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We ate there for brunch actually and I was extremely impressed by the quality of food, good service and nice place. I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Nukesrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    179
    40
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Sandwhiches!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great atmosphere and lovely people!! I was recommended to go here by the staff at the Residence Inn near by and I quickly realized why they spoke so highly of this place! Great food, reasonable prices, friendly service, nothing bad to say. Just a perfect place!!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First and last time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I am sure that this place is normally pretty good but that was not my experience. We went in on a Sunday morning April 13, 2014 around 11:00am and ordered coffee and two egg, bacon and cheese bagel sandwiches for about 15$. It was pretty busy but not chaotic. The wait time was as expected. The counter help was smug and not very welcoming. Pretty sure he didn't like his job. It seemed like an upscale place as the chefs where all decked out in professional garb. But the sandwiches were AWFUL. We could not believe how bad they were. The bagel over toasted and crumbly. The cheese was almost hard it was so overcooked. The eggs dry and bland. the bacon was almost burnt it was so hard and crunchy like something you might crumble on a salad. The coffee tasted burnt. We didn't realize any of this until we were already on the highway in the car otherwise we would of returned them. We ended up throwing it all out and going through a McDonald's and getting egg mcmuffins and iced coffee which was great. I am sure it was just a bad experience because if that was their everyday sandwich they would not be in business too long. But with so many other breakfast options in Portsmouth we won't go their ever again. Just wasn't our lucky day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skiwindjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious But Hectic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Really good food here on a recent Saturday afternoon. But, the ordering system is really messy and confusing. It was hard to relax. But, the food was top quality.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cambridgelass60890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnville, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast all day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Looking for a good cup of coffee and light breakfast at 11am and found popovers! Be sure and add bacon to the scrambled egg stuffed popover....yummyyyyyyyy
The pastry offerings made ones mouth water. Be sure to take a couple of friends so that your care share several treats.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sidewalksend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Popovers On The Square also viewed

 
Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Popovers On The Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing