We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweful management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aweful management”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I'm new to the whole trip advisor thing, but I wanted to be sure I shared my opinion of this place as it was an AWEFUL experience. My husband and I stayed here a few months ago when we were in town for a wedding, and this place is just terrible. The pool was probably the only good part about the whole hotel. We had a major problem while we were here and we brought it up to management, and the manager cared less; basically, the worst management I've ever seen. Don't waste your breath on this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    107
    52
    37
    44
See reviews for
103
141
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This motel is privately owned. The room was very clean; the bathroom had recently been updated with white bead board walls below wainscoting. The bathroom was larger than most hotels. The furniture and carpet looked new. The pool and spa were nicely decorated and clean looking. The breakfast was good. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful on directions to the downtown area and helpful info about parking. We booked this location after another booking fell through and weren't disappointed. It is just off the interstate and convenient drive to the historic/ waterfront area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly30087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were only in town for one night, but the Anchorage Inn was a great place to stay. The desk clerk was very nice and very pleasant. He directed us into town and gave us some great places to eat. The town is a really nice place to wander around and shop, or have beers as our husbands did!

Room Tip: If the sound of traffic bothers you, ask for the other side of the building. We had our windows ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Swansons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a one of those borderline reviews. A high 3, a low 4 it can go either way. First the good points. This place is extremely easy to find right off of I-95 and it is very easy to find the downtown heart of Portsmouth. The prices were very reasonable. The indoor pool and hot tub were a nice way to wind down after a long day on the road. Things I didn't like was a sparse continental breakfast. This motel is dated and it's needs an interior facelift. It just feels old and in need of some TLC. Overall you get a decent bang for your buck and for those of us on a budget I really can't complain.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.H.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at the Anchorage Inn during a visit to Jenness Beach in Rye,N.H. We were pleased to receive an upgrade to a suite with a small kitchenette. Staff was very pleasant and the room was clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast was included but we had to wait quite awhile for plates,and other condiments as they ran out. Very easy access to highway.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angusnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend while spending my birthday in Portsmouth. Was a great place to stay, pool and hot tub, small and a few kids when we stayed but no biggie. The rooms seem a little dated, but very clean and organized well. The location is fantastically close to downtown and a short drive to Hampton beach.
Overall a good place, in a great location!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmg253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree MA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This place is OLD!! you can hear the floors creaking all night, if you happen to be on the 1st floor like we were. Location is good, convenient to 95N & S. about an $8 cab ride to downtown Portsmouth bars/restaurants. There is a Holiday Inn right across the street that looks a hundred times better. When we came back from downtown, front door was locked with no one at front desk to let us in.. not too good!

Room Tip: don't stay on 1st floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BraintreeMADjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inns & Suites

Property: Anchorage Inns & Suites
Address: 417 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3247
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Inns & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, brick and wood - On I-95. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inns And Suites
Anchorage Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Anchorage Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing