We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We have been staying at the Anchorage Inn, in Portsmouth for the past 16 years. We travel from Connecticut to Portsmouth on an average of once every 6 to 7 weeks. We have never found another hotel to be as accommodating as the Anchorage Inn is. Most all the rooms have been completely remodeled, and are sparkling clean. The hotel staff is very friendly and polite. We love to swim in the heated pool, and the new sauna that has a water fall.
Thank you again Anchorage for you hospitality.
Mary Ellen & Bert

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2009

We stayed here overnight to do some shopping in the area. The room was in good condition with the updates. We were very happy with the service upon arrival at the front desk the young man was very helpful checking us in early and telling us directions to do our shopping. The housekeeping for the most part was ok but found some popcorn on the floor next to bed. We never reported it though. The beds were ok. some of the linens were ok. Never used the indoor pool during our stay. Next morning got up and had continental breakfast. It was good and served the purpose.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aharvey1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We stayed in a smoking room because it was available. The poor rating reflects the state of the rooms, cleaning, and service. While the hotel could provided a non-smoking room seeing that our reservation included children, this was not requested when booking through a website. Our room was cramped, the bed spreads had burn holes, the air conditioner housing was broken - reflecting poor housekeeping and maintenance. Staff were friendly, but scarce. Average roadside hotel except for what's mentioned above which drops it a notch.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IM12R8U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

An overall good experience... The hotel served it's purpose as a place to sleep for the night, but there was nothing special about it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faithfan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Stayed a few night here and from the start we were impressed. Although its close to the highways, inside the rooms it was relatively quiet. The front desk staff were very friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable although needing an update which is what they were in the process of doing. The pool area was very nice. The location was a easy, short drive to the downtown area. All in all a pleasant experience. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ1978Windsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

I stayed here after a long travel day and needed some good rest. Easy access off the highway, yet very quiet at the hotel. Very friendly, helpful staff. Everything very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. I did not use the pool, but that area also looked very nice.
The continental breakfast had plenty to offer.
This was my second stay at this hotel, and I would gladly stay there again. My first visit was with family, and they enjoyed it as well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ifbyCCoastofMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

This was the second time I stayed at this hotel. Unforntuately, the first time I was there the pool area was still under construction, but that was well worth the wait. The pool area and hot tub are beautiful and incredibly relaxing, I could have stayed in the hot tub all night!
As they were before, the staff was very friendly and the surrounding area is very easy to find your way around.
I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wadaniwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
0 mi away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#10 of 17 in Portsmouth
430 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inns & Suites

Address: 417 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3247
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £62 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Inns & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, brick and wood - On I-95. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Anchorage Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inns And Suites
Anchorage Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Anchorage Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing