We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quality Inn(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$196
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$236
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
125
113
59
39
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
113
59
39
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubcontinental breakfastroom was cleanfront desk manageroff the highwaywafflesindoor poolthird floorstayed here for one nightconvenient locationclose to downtowncerealdiner
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2010

The Anchorage is such a great place to stay with family, friends or just about anyone. The staff is wonderful, very polite and make sure you happy. The hotel is very clean, rooms are excellent and the pool/hot tub is very nice. They also have a great continental breakfast which has an employee right there cleaning up and making sure they do not run out of food. I have been to several hotels and I thinki the Anchorage Inn is out of this world.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgrant14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Usually hotels with out a big name that don't cost a whole lot aren't the nicest of places, but this one surprised us both. We weren't expecting much when we booked the room, but were pleasantly surprised. The staff were helpful when we came to check in. Because of recent power outages, the hotel had been booked completely the night before. We tried calling them after seeing they had a room on Orbitz, but were told there were no rooms. We then booked through Orbitz and it went through. The guy at the front desk was nice enough to call Orbitz after we had waited for half an hour for the fax to come through with our booking info (we had booked 5 minutes before arriving). When we finally got to our room, it was large with a king size bed and extremely clean. The bed was first, but very comfortable. The only complaint I had is that I had asked for a CVS and the front desk directed me to a Rite Aid that was closer, but closed early on Sundays and it was after 8 when I asked. The CVS was open. If you're staying in Portsmouth and don't mind not being right downtown, this is a great hotel with a friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunawayJimPVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

My fiancee and I stayed here for Valentine's Day (Saturday night). Check in was easy, the staff was friendly, and the hotel room was clean. The indoor pool and hot tub were a nice treat in the middle of the winter! They have a fitness center with a sauna as well, but my room key did not open the door. Since I had no actual desire to work out, I never spoke to the front desk about the issue.

The free continental breakfast was very basic - cold cereal, bread, bagels, coffee, tea, juice and muffins, which I didn't mind. My only complaint is that the floors are hollow so all footsteps echo - I was woken up by my upstairs neighbors at 6:30 AM! At one point someone's footsteps were actually making our door rattle!

Other than that one annoyance, it was great for the price and a quick stay in Portsmouth!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivinitupinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

My husband and I regularly travel to Portsmouth, NH and choose to stay overnight at a local hotel. For the last 3 years, that choice has been the Anchorage Inns & Suites on the Portsmouth traffic circle.
The staff is friendly and always willing to assist in any area needed. The rooms are spacious and always clean, the beds comfortable.
The General Manger (Frank Tuscano) has gone out of his way to make our stay enjoyable.
At present, there is no hot food in the cafe at breakfast. I'd suggest a Belgium waffle machine!
Overall, we always feel welcomed and have no hesitation in returning again and again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImKeepnUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We regularly visit Portsmouth and always stay at the Anchorage Inn.

We like this hotel because it combines the best of both worlds -- we can get suites comparable to what we can find in larger hotels, AND we get personalized and friendly service you can only find in small hotels.

The newly renovated rooms are not only comfortable but tastefully decorated as well. The new suites are just amazing and an incredible value. Those suites are comparable to 5 star hotel suites which one would not expect to find in a small local hotel. What a nice surprise.

Ask yourself this question: When was the last time you went to a hotel and the staff at the front desk, the manager, and the maintenance staff actually remembered you, greeted you with a warm heartfelt welcome and asked you how you have been? This is the kind of welcome we get each time we visit. The staff is so friendly, they actually make us feel like family and often go out of their way to assist us. It is always a pleasure to go back and see them each time we visit. This is quite special.

We also like the location very much, close to everything (old portsmouth village, the Fox Run mall, the Kittery retail outlets, etc... and located in a quiet area so you don't hear the traffic.

We actually like the layout of the hotel with the free parking in the front, sides and back of the hotel , because we can always park next to an entrance and just having close access to your room....so we never have to carry our luggage on long distances and never have to walk a mile to get to our car. No matter where we park, we are always close to an entrance and to our room.

The pool area was recently renovated and has a nice hottub that is very popular with families.

For us, this hotel represents the best value in the Portsmouth area.

Cindy

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy_and_Alain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews