We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Anchorage Inns & Suites in Portsmouth, New Hampshire last week for 3 nights. We were traveling in the area and a friend told us about Anchorage and how pleased they were with their stay. Because "word-of-mouth" is normally a sure sign of what to expect, we made the choice to book a room. Because we were going to be in town for a number of days, we wrestled with a choice of a room or suite. The Haven suite was open and we decided to go with it as the price was reasonable. We were told that the suite had just been renovated and were very pleased when we first set eyes on it. Very nice! From the flat screen tvs in both rooms to the comfy couch in the sitting room-everything was wonderful!
The staff was very friendly and accomodating and the cafe for breakfast was fine. The belgian waffles were yummy!
Overall, we were extremely pleased with our stay and would definitely recommend the Anchorage Inns & Suites in Portsmouth, NH to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PugsRule1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    108
    54
    37
    45
See reviews for
106
142
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Groton, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2010

My husband and I were looking to get away from our normal routine and decided to go up north to portsmouth nh.. I have to say that the two days we spent @ the hotel were extremely wonderful. From the min we walked in you can"t help but notice how clean everything was. And I really enjoyed talking with Millie in cafe,what a delightful young lady. When I asked millie how she was doing, she so kindly replies.. I"m blessed and you. What wise words.Those words gave my husband and I alot to think about. That yes we are blessed in more ways then one. Again what a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milagros25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We were celebrating our anniversary and came across this great hotel. We tried to stay at the Holiday Inn, but they were sold out at $199. This was less expensive and we had a terrific stay! The staff were efficient, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They gave great dinner recommendations and information about what to do and see in the area. Rooms were clean, comfortable and recently renovated. Pool and Hot Tub are open late (11pm - a real bonus!). We stayed an extra night we liked it so much and we will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed at the Anchorage and it was terrific. The staff was extremely helpful and very accomodating. They were so nice and pleasant. The room was impeccable. It was extremely clean. The bathroom mirror had no streaks and the faucets looked like they had been polished. The room even smelled fresh. It was very quiet at night. The continental breakfast in the morning was great. There was fresh fruit which looked like it was hand picked. There were no bruises or marks on any of the fruit. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSoxFan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburnham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days- We received a great price on our room- the room was very clean-great location-so we could get to the wedding we were attending-we traveled up the coast and back one day- they customer service people were very helpful-John Maki is a very helpful customer service-made our stay a great time- The rooms are very quiet-I sleeped like a log-which is not what I usually do. The manager of the hotel is doing a great job. It runs very smoothly. Would go back anytime. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamjo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We found our stay at the Anchorage Inn & Suites excellent. The suite was very nice and the staff was very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We found the staff very helpful and friendly in providing great ideas where to eat and visiting while staying in Portsmouth. We will be returning again next year for our 38th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I stayed in Anchorage Inn on august 17th 2010. The place exceeded my expectations.
The room and lobby were very clean and neat. Loved their Hot tub! The staff was extremely polite and helpful. Thank you to Tom and Andrea who were nice and knowledgeable. Location is great - close to route 16 and I95 easy to get to shopping and downtown Portsmouth.
I will definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naran16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inns & Suites

Property: Anchorage Inns & Suites
Address: 417 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3247
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Inns & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, brick and wood - On I-95. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Anchorage Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inns And Suites
Anchorage Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Anchorage Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing