We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$173
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ale House Inn(Portsmouth)
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Portsmouth(Portsmouth)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
78
96
20
12
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
96
20
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflesroom was cleanhampton beachchoice hotelsmicro wavepool and hot tubrite aidtv channelschain hotelnon smokingan older hotelfridge and microwaveplenty of hot waterstayed nightshotel is locatedquick drivequeen room
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here on the last night of our vacation because it was within an hour of Boston’s Logan airport and we wanted to visit Portsmouth. The staff were very friendly and gave us a lot of good information on visiting Portsmouth, which was about five minutes away. They have a small gym and a pool. The price was good but on the negative We found the room really dated and the carpet had numerous greasy spots on it.

Room Tip: We stayed here on the last night of our vacation because it was within an hour of Boston’s Logan airport and we wanted to visit Portsmouth. The staff were very friendly and gave us a lot of good information on visiting Portsmouth, which was about five minutes away. They have a small gym and a pool. The price was good but on the negative We found the room really dated and the carpet had numerous greasy spots on it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We chose this hotel because the reviews, but we really don't know if we stayed at the same hotel that so many people praise.

I'm not talking about the ugliness of the facade of the building, or the creepiness of the parking lot at night, those things are evident in the photos and comments, and they didn't represent an issue for a one night stay. I'm talking about this: the only things that were clean in our room were the sheets (the duvet was really dirty) and the bathroom (altough the sink had a extremely slow, almost clogged, drain). My husband needed to move the nightstand in order to reach the electric outlet, and found dirt even on the wall, not to mention clear evidence of ages of not cleaning under the bed or any piece of furniture (dust bunnies, hair, pieces of gum, etc). The sofa bed upholstery was filthy, the furniture in general showed signs of use, abuse and lack of maintenance, and the carpet was beyond hope, there is no cleaning that could bring it to a reasonable appearance.

We had to use the laundry room, and it wasn't a nice experience, because is a little, creepy and dirty room at the end of a smoking floor. We are both asmathic, so we decided to take turns watching for our laundry, due the very bad quality of the air in there. Even the elevators are ugly and smelly. Except for the front desk area, the property (or at least the areas we had to use) looks sad, dirty, outdated and is in desperate need of renovation.

The positive: the staff, who are friendly and attentive, and the very decent breakfast buffet. But sorry, guys, everything else is sub standar.

Hotels in Portsmouth are absurdly expensive, especially in the downtown area. So, given the good reviews, this Comfort Inn seemed like a good option for one night, but again, I'm not sure if we are talking about the same hotel. This was our only bad experience during our two weeks around New England. So, for our concerns, we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleStripes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The Inn is located minutes from downtown and easy to get on and off the highway. The check-in was fast and the parking lot spacious. The room was large for two people and was clean. There were no smells of smoke or stains in the carpet. The tub was clean and the bathroom was sanitized without mold anywhere. The air conditioner was the main issue since it is a large old unit that rumbles loudly when you first start it up. Once the machine gets going for ten minute, it quiets down. Breakfast is included and includes pancakes and waffles that you can make along with the standard donuts and pastry items. It's a great place to stay for a weekend trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fongtrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

We were hesitant to stop because it is a little out of market area, but we were wrong. The rooms were clean and comfortable after a long day of driving. The staff was exceptional and friendly. Especially the front desk people...Julie B.
She helped us navigate Portsmouth in the rain.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pambara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Wife and I spent two nights here in August based on previous tripadvisor reviews. Every one of the staff that we encountered from the front desk, housekeeping as well as a maintenance person were all cheerful and friendly with something pleasant to say. Being involved in a service industry myself in past years I can only say that these people are great ambassadors for Comfort Inn.

The room and public areas are well maintained and when you drive up off the highway the exterior looks like someone gives a damn. One improvement they should make is that the big parking lot needs a couple of islands with some plantings and delineation lines for each spot.

Our bed was comfortable and the room even included a recliner and sofabed. Since we were late risers we did not partake of the included breakfast so I can't give an opinion on that. I will put this Comfort Inn on my list of recommended hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodcook7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews