We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and last time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The only reason why I didn't give this a one was due to friendly staff and good location.

Now the bad -

- Our room had a foot odor. Traced it to the ac. It was a hot day so had to deal with it.
- The beds and pillows were uncomfortable. I was itching the whole night. Checked for bites the next morning. I didn't find any so maybe too much laundry detergent?
- T.V. Didn't turn on
- Very small room for continental breakfast.
- Parking area was a tight fit
- No luggage carts

Honest review - recommend staying elsewhere

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineInnStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Portsmouth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel is next to I 95 with exit and convenient to all Portsmouth. The hotel is clean with friendly staff. Breakfast is included with the usual. The best is that it is very reasonably priced in an expensive market and near vacation destinations. Will be back !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJim171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Jeremey was very helpful and accommodating while we were trying make reservations while driving. Talking on a cell phone while driving is not smart and Jeremey knew this and expedited the reservation. When we arrived he was very professional and thorough. This young man should be given a good review. He deserves it.

The motel was very good and we enjoyed our one night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard_springer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Brits on tour in the area this was a good place to stay for a night stop on route. A good honest well run hotel with clean comfortable rooms and bed.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfieNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We arrived "off of the road".and were greeted by Tyrone at the front desk who had taken our reservation just a couple of hours earlier while we were travelling. He was even more pleasant in person. Even though we were just "passing through" Tyrone and Jeremy could not have been more accommodating and provided us with great recommedations for places to eat. The room was exceptionally clean and had all the amenities of the 5 star hotels. Just a portion of the price and much more friendly. The continental breakfast provided all that we would need to get us going the next day. The value was exceptional. If this is an example of America's Best Inns, we will be sure to look for more of them during our vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The rooms were roomy, the bathroom clean but the carpet needed help. Obvious that no chairs were moved to vacuum. All the edges and corners were trashed up with paper and other "junk". We stayed for 2 nights and after the first one I asked if they could do a good vacuuming job on the room. Looked no different the next night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gimbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Decent motel - booked on Priceline and saved a bit more money. Good, comfortable, clean room. Would stay there again. I liked the free cookie on check-in!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Portsmouth

Address: 383 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3209 (Formerly America's Best Inns & Suites)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £78 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inns And Suites
America`s Best Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Best Inn Americas
Best Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing