We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 11 January 2014

won a deal with priceline on this hotel

really a good hotel. welcoming staff, comfortable beds, quite room and a free breakfast

my family and I were too happy with the stay

Thank you America's Best Inns & Suites
we will stay again

Room Tip: higher floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abdul15th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed our comfortable beds. The mattresses were one of our many upgrades in 2013. We are also glad you enjoyed your quiet room and our complimentary continental breakfast. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had a remodeled, well furnished room. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel has wifi, computer in lobby, luggage carts, ice, exercise room, atm, washer, and dryer. The breakfast was basic and starchy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mak9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

We are so glad you stayed with us and enjoyed (and reviewed!) some of our amenities. We will kick off the new year by continuing to improve our amenities and furnishings and hope to see you in the future to share them with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Everything we look for in a roadside hotel. Nice staff, clean quiet rooms, and they even had the really good mini-muffins for breakfast. Extra thank you to the staff for mailing us a coat we left behind

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannySeavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed meeting our friendly staff and staying in our clean quiet rooms. We are also glad you enjoyed the assorted muffins we serve at our complimentary continental breakfast. In regards to the coat, no thank you necessary. It is our pleasure to take care of our guests before, during and after their stay. We hope to see you again this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Clean, conveniently located, priced right. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Will. He's an amazing employee. Extremely personable and professional. He truly made us feel welcomed. A true asset to this hotel.
I recommend staying here. In fact, I plan on doing so in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeddyPoo143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

We are so glad you stayed with us and met our excellent and friendly front desk clerk. We will pass along your kind words to Will. We are delighted to hear you plan to stay here again in the future. Please let our sales coordinator know prior to your arrival at sales@bestinnportsmouth.com. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night. It was a great hotel for the value. We got this hotel after using an express deal from a popular travel website. To say we were pleased was an understatement. First, the location of the hotel was great. Easy to find right off the interstate. Also, the hotel is in great proximity to historic downtown Portsmouth. It is literally a quick 2 minute drive to all of the quaint charms of downtown. As soon as we walked into the hotel we were greeted by friendly desk clerks. They took the time to ask us whether we had ever visited and then took the time to give us recommendations for places to eat and things to do. They were even baking cookies which made the lobby smell delicious! Our room was large. Although it was directly on the main road we didn't have any trouble with noise. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. In the morning we had the free breakfast and we thought the selection was nice. Toast, bagels, cereal, muffins and juice among the options we found. Overall, the location was great and the staff was very nice. We would absolutely stay here again if in the area. We have paid a great deal more for other rooms and not received half of the comfort we got here. It was quiet and perfect for our quick one night stay. Thanks so much for a great experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EternalStudent81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

On behalf of our entire staff, we sincerely appreciate your time in writing such a wonderful review. We are so excited you enjoyed the fresh cookies at check in and our friendly front desk clerks. We are really glad you stayed in Portsmouth. It has so much to offer to everyone. The restaurants are all incredible, as are the activities such as Vintage Christmas, Candlelight Stroll, and the theatrical performances at the Music Hall and Seacoast Rep. We are glad you easily found us located just off of the interstate. We like to say we are the hotel that is halfway to everywhere. Easily accessible to all local highways such as the 95N & S, Route 1 and Route 16. We put a great amount of pride in our clean rooms and comfortable new mattresses. We are also glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. Please contact our sales coordinator at sales@bestinnportsmouth.com before your next visit to receive a welcome bag in your room as our personal thank you for such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel and room actually where what the pictures showed. The lobby and our room was very clean - and I am saying very clean. Wish the mattress would have been newer and warmer blankets or light comforter would have made sleep cozy. But for the cost and the nice staff this place is better than others in the surrounding area. Let people know that the can use the pool across the street a the Holiday Inn. Only issue is that the shower faucet is very hard to pull and had to use two strong hands and then pull - please fix.

Room Tip: This isn't a big hotel - we got a room at the end of the hall on the corner - somewhat quiet but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our housekeeping department is absolutely excellent and each employee puts 110% into their work. We are sorry you did not like our new mattresses. We replaced our mattresses in the spring of this year as well as the new flat screen TVs and other great amenities you may have noticed. As for the shower faucet, if you could email us at sales@bestinnportsmouth as to what room number you were in, the information will be passed along to our maintenance technician who will take care of this matter promptly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Hey needed a place close to I-95 on Sat night of Thanksgiving weekend as I understood there would probably be freezing rain/some snow further inland in Dover NH where I stayed at the Microtel Inn on Friday night. I was up in NH for the UNH-Lafayette College playoff game. I was impressed with ABI as it was a very good value. The appointments were excellent, hallways wide and the place really was spotless. I didn't partake in the continental breakfast as I wanted to try the nearby Roundabout Diner (very good!) so I cant comment on that as I just had coffe but people did seem to be liking it. Really a quiet, solid place for $75 a night. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I was in room 206 not to far from stairwell & elevator and away from US1 so it was quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjdewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Portsmouth

Address: 383 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3209 (Formerly America's Best Inns & Suites)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £68 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inns And Suites
America`s Best Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Best Inn Americas
Best Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing