We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
America's Best Inns & Suites
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Limerick, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We often stay at the hotel next door but decided to try America's Best because the price was significantly less. We were pleasantly surprised, the room we had was very comparable to the Holiday Inn or the Anchorage Inn, but for about $30 less. The room was very clean and the king sized bed was SO comfortable! But the main reason we will return is that the front desk clerk, Will (I think that was his name) was so professional, accommodating and friendly, something we definitely didn't feel like we got at the hotel next door. He talked about local attractions, restaurants and generally let us know he was there to make our stay a good one. Great job! We stay in Portsmouth once a week (cuts travel time between our jobs) and we are planning to always stay there! I would recommend it to anyone and I have!

Room Tip: Room 306 was a nice clean room, great tv, and very bright and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your work week. We are so pleased to have your business, and your lovely review of our hotel. As we continue to improve our hotel, we are glad you recognized our newly upgraded mattresses (summer 2013), and all of our efforts to keep our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    137
    76
    27
    14
See reviews for
87
156
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed one night during a snow storm since I was unable to get home. Parking lot didnt even look as though a plow had come through and I was glad I had been dropped off and was being picked up the next day. Check in was smooth and the front desk agent Becca or something along those lines was detailed about amenities (breakfast hours, wifi info etc.) she was professional and pleasant however seemed like just another day another dollar to her, I have previously read reviews on here and everyone talked leaps and bounds about Will, wish I may have had the pleasure of encountering him while I stayed there however I did not. Got to my room-worst location ever between the elevator and ice machine.

Now inside the room furniture looks as though its been there since they opened in 1985. Looking at the bed you could see dips where guest have slept (maybe time to update furniture and mattresses) but the bed seemed clean I didn't see any hairs or stains (which i looked for after some of my future comments were spotted). I'll just get into those now- old menus behind night stand, desk and nightstand spills and crusted items as if not even wiped down. Bathroom dried pee on under side of toilet seat, dried caked on soap in shower on soap holder. 2 soaps and 1 'conditioning shampoo' in the bathroom. stained bath towels. Hairdryer on wall in bathroom covered in dust. hallway light between bathroom and bedroom area looked as though it was gonna fall out of ceiling. heating went from cold to stifling to cold to stifling no real consistency with it. Mini fridge in room had spills and caked on gunk in it.

Wifi & tv worked well.

Upon checking out I was asked by the general manager how my stay was i mentioned that I was disappointed with it and he questioned why I explained (as above or atleast most of the items above) as I was waiting for my ride to pick me up and he made notes of what the concerns were. Said he had been the one inspecting rooms and he wasnt sure how that was missed. He knocked about $20 off my total bill which was very nice however it doesnt change my overall experience at the establishment.

I will NOT return and will NOT recommend. Might have been better off sleeping in my car.

Room Tip: suggest away from elevator and ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fawn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We would like to reassure you that as a team we were quite disappointed after reading this review. Please contact me at your earliest convenience to discuss this with me further. In response to your comments, our mattresses were upgraded last summer and are continually upgraded, as needed so I do appreciate you letting us know that your mattress was uncomfortable, and we will look into your concern. Upon your next stay with us please request a room on the quiet side, which will reduce any highway noise and most likely assure you are not near the ice machine. We have a wonderful front desk team. Each and every front desk clerk cares deeply about our guests, and that comes across in our other Trip Advisor reviews. Unfortunately with the abundance of snow we have gotten this winter parking can be an issue at times due to the lack of space to put it. We have a very reputable local company that plows throughout each storm but as you have noticed the last couple of storms dropped a significant amount of snow in a short period of time, which makes it difficult to keep up with, but we do our best. Again, please contact me at your convenience. I would like to know what room you were in and look into this matter thoroughly. I only hope we can convince you to give us another try so we can prove to you that we really do live up to the other excellent comments we have on Trip Advisor. My email is sales@bestinnportsmouth.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

If you are looking for elegance this is not the place for you but if you are looking for a clean, comfortable room at a good price, America's Best Inn is what you want. The hotel is conveniently located at the Portsmouth traffic circle making it easy to get to the sites of Portsmouth as well as the outlets in Kittery, ME.

The staff was friendly and the room was comfortable and clean. The bed was a double and not a queen as advertised but it was just me staying there so I had plenty of room. The continental breakfast is just as advertised - coffee, juice, fruit and some bakery items - so if you want a heartier breakfast, I suggest the Roundabout Diner (one of my favorites) on the other side of the circle.

The wifi worked well and to my surprise there was a small fridge and a microwave in the room. I was happy with my stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I am interested in how you made your reservation at our hotel (direct or online booking through a third party) and where the queen room was advertised. If this was a direct reservation, I apologize on behalf of America's Best Inn that you were given a double instead of a queen and I will look further into this. I am glad you enjoyed the Roundabout Diner. They have excellent breakfast and dinner, as does the Holiday Inn's restaurant right next door. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

The service at the hotel was excellent. Very friendly people. The rooms were clean and comfortable and extremely reasonably priced. The hotel was conveniently located near main arteries. The only thing that could have been better was the breakfast service. It wasn't replenished leaving pretty much nothing except coffee

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. America's Best Inn Portsmouth is proud to offer clean, spacious rooms in a very friendly environment. We hope to see you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

My boyfriend and I were in town for a wine and chocolate tasting at Attrezzi in downtown Portsmouth, and this was a very nice place for the night. The room was spacious and comfortable. There was only "conditioning shampoo" and two bars of hand soap left in the room to bathe with, so it is a good thing we came prepared! The breakfast was sub-par, but overall stay was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Melinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

won a deal with priceline on this hotel

really a good hotel. welcoming staff, comfortable beds, quite room and a free breakfast

my family and I were too happy with the stay

Thank you America's Best Inns & Suites
we will stay again

Room Tip: higher floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdul15th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed our comfortable beds. The mattresses were one of our many upgrades in 2013. We are also glad you enjoyed your quiet room and our complimentary continental breakfast. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Inns & Suites

Property: America's Best Inns & Suites
Address: 383 Woodbury Ave., Portsmouth, NH 03801-3209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Inns & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your America's Best Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inns And Suites
America`s Best Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Best Inn Americas
Best Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing