We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$173
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Portsmouth(Portsmouth)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
141
169
88
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
169
88
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastfront deskroom was cleancookiesbagelsoff the highwayliquor storeother hotelsplace to staybit datedbar harbortraffic circlenew hampshirehotel roomroundabout dinerstayed one nightthe breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located outside the town but it's a short walk to downtown where everything is happening.it was quiet and very clean,the stuff super-friendly and helpful.they serve a bit of breakfast downstairs but right across the street is a diner which is a great option.the parking lot is spacious and i believe guests are able to use an indoor pool in a nearby Holiday Inn-great option for a rainy day.we enjoyed our stay and will be back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Katerina2E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to review our clean rooms and friendly staff. Thank you for mentioning the Roundabout Diner! They are a great little diner just across the street that offer breakfast all day as well as lunch and dinner. Very helpful to guests who want more than our complimentary continental breakfast. You are correct about the Holiday Inn and their pool. Our guests are allowed to use their indoor heated pool and also are entitled to 10% off breakfast and dinner at Table 21 (inside the Holiday Inn). Thank you and again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Value at it's best. Great helpful staff. Convenient Location. Grabbed a bite for breakfast each morning...good to start the day. Will stay again when I am in the area. Lots to do close by. Highway easy on and easy off.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorri304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dorri,
We are so pleased to read your kind words. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your stay. We are glad you mentioned our great value, friendly staff, and easy location to major highways. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay and the location and staff were excellent. We originally only took the room for 1 night and ended up staying for 3.The breakfast was good and the room was very clean. I again want to comment on the excellent front desk personnel.

Room Tip: The front desk will certainly help you with whatever the traveler requires as for room size, etc
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HossIona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your review! We are pleased you reviewed us on our excellent location to nearby highways and downtown Portsmouth. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed meeting our exceptional staff. Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor and we hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a night to get our christmas shopping done from Kitery Outlets in Maine.. which wasn't far from the hotel at all.. It was cold out.. but the room was nice and warm we were able to change the temp of the room to our liking. They do have a couple vending machines and a few workout machines.. Very cramped room though. We were in a no smoking section and to get to the vending machines and work out room we had to go down 3 floors.. When you first step out of the elevator to go to the vending machines all you smell is cigarette smoke from the smoking rooms. My husband and I went down together and he was going to go get something from the car, he had the key card and mine was in the room.. I talked to a cleaning lady who went in the elevator with me and opened the room for me. She was so nice I kept saying Thank You to her. We did have a complimentary dinner but it was next door at the other hotel they are with.. we had to drive even though it wasn't far as it was freezing.. Luckily we didnt have swim suits or wanted to go swimming going back to the room we would turn into ice cubes. I would stay again.. one issue was the breakfast, the room is tiny, not alot of options and everything runs out quick.

Room Tip: No smoking level 3 has no odor what so ever. Great for my asthma!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Tonya,
Thank you for choosing America's Best Inn this past winter. I agree, it was a very cold winter for New England. I am glad to hear you took advantage of Christmas shopping at the nearby Kittery Outlets and the Holiday Inn's restaurant, Table 21. We hope to have you back at America's Best Inn this summer when the weather is more inviting.
Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay thanks to the graciousness and professionalism of the front desk clerk; warm cookies, knowledge of area and smiles. What more could we ask for??? Stay also included a very nice breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apfrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Apfrick- Thank you for your review of our front desk. We are very fortunate to have such an excellent team. Our front desk staff is just how you described: professional, knowledgable of the area, and they offer fresh hot cookies every afternoon. Thank you for mentioning our complimentary continental breakfast of assorted muffins, toast, pastries, cereal, oatmeal, bagels and english muffins. We are glad you enjoyed it. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews