We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic room with a lounge/restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Boston area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic room with a lounge/restaurant”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

It's a Holiday Inn - clean & cheap - basic 2 double beds with a TV, and a small bathroom.The good news is, there's a lounge! So, if you come in tired and not wanting to search out a spot for a sandwich and beer - it's here. Bypass the restaurant area, it's the same menu, and head to comfy chairs in lounge. We had the California Chicken sandwich and a couple beers - perfect. WIFI is free but is a pain if you are going to be in and out of hotel during your stay because if you leave HI you have to relog in with special username & password in safari, every time. Free coffee in the beautiful lobby in the morning was great. This hotel is right off the highway - good travel pitstop, overlooking highway.

Room Tip: Forget the in room little coffee maker with no cream - head to lobby for free coffee!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mh217315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    116
    92
    40
    32
See reviews for
94
122
28
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
233 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Myself and 3 other friends were going to Portsmouth NH for a concert and wanted to stay the night. We did not want to spend a lot of money, but cleanliness and sleep quality is still important to us. I had stayed at a Holiday Inn in Palm Beach Florida a few years ago, and remember being very impressed with the hotel. I found a room at this Holiday Inn in Portsmouth NH for $99 for a double queen room, which was perfect.

From start to finish, we were all incredibly impressed with this hotel. First of all, and this is a big thing for me, there was no surprise Resort Fee, which I can't stand. So that made me happy! Check in was a breeze, and the gentleman at the front desk was very pleasant. The lobby was very comfortable and clean. Our room was large, had very comfortable beds and was very clean. One thing I love about Holiday Inn's are the pillows - they give you a selection of hard or soft. Large TV, refrigerator and coffee maker were all in good working order.

The only thing negative I have to mention is the size of the bathroom. Yes, it is clean, but very small. And the tub looked like it was time to replace. For such a nice room, I would have expected a nicer bathroom. This is the only reason why I am giving this review 4 stars instead of 5.

We had breakfast the following morning at the hotel restaurant, and we were all really impressed. The food was great. I'm told the bacon was amazing. I had eggs, homefries and 1 piece of french toast and I loved it. I'm told the coffee wasn't great, but I didn't drink it myself. The restaurant was very clean and actually quite adorable. I'm attaching pictures.

We were all very impressed with our stay here, and will happily stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNow917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Located on the Portsmouth traffic circle, this hotel is conveniently located near Fox Run Mall and other stores.The room was average, one sitting chair with ottoman, desk, microwave and refrigerator, plenty of storage space. Bathroom is very small and hard to maneuver around. We had an even numbered room which was not facing the busy traffic circle. If you don;t like traffic noise, ask for an even numbered room. This hotel has a restaurant and lounge,however, neither was open although they advertise hours 7 days a week. Luckily, a restaurant is right next door. It was a little inconvenient to have to leave the hotel to eat, since it was such a cold night! You may want to ask if the restaurant will be open when booking your stay if you need to eat. The front desk clerk did not tell us the restaurant/lounge was not open,but gave us free drink coupons which were totally useless! Our check in experience was only adequate at best.

Room Tip: Even numbered room, higher floor would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear nmcall,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am glad that you liked our location. However, please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mass
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel , looks recently renovated. Very nice lobby, breakfast room service and heated pool. Rooms were very nice and clean and the Ed was very comfortable. Large LG flat screen tv and pay movies. In room coffee and coffee maker.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debauc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I got this hotel as a 3 star Hotwire deal. My first thought was, Holiday Inn is 3 stars? I'm not terribly familiar with the chain, but it strikes me as more of a 2 star.

The room was fine. Not tiny, not huge. Clean, desk had a chair (not sure what was up with the earlier reviewer's room), bathroom average size. The hot water was weird, it took forever to warm up. After 4 minutes I assumed it was warmed, got in the shower, scalded myself, and had to turn the water temp way down. And then a minute later, turn it down again. And then again!

There's a bit of a trek to the pool. The pool is kept near bath water temp, which was pretty nice in winter. Towels are provided. The pool area was very clean, but I admit I was wishing for a hot tub.

Oh, and the bed. The bed gave both of us sore backs. It was very soft, I'd say too soft.

Skip the hotel restaurant breakfast, which is adequate, and go next door to Roundabout Diner.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Red_Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Red_Jade,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the shower, bed and breakfast. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I was a little nervous about booking the Holiday inn based off of a few recent reviews that were posted. Here is the thing. It is a Holiday Inn, not a five diamond hotel. With that being said, I didn't have any issue to the hotel. Very easy to get into town and 95 was a stones throw away. We had the 3rd floor facing the highway and didn't hear any noise from cards like other travelers spoke about. The room was clean which probably is the most important thing to me. I have stayed at the Hilton Portsmouth, and while this wasn't as nice, it was over half the price we paid for the Hilton. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone that stays in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwoodDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for New Years Eve. It served its main purpose, being that it's a decent place to stay only 1 mile from downtown, however, the hotel itself is sub par compared with other Holiday Inns / IHG properties. Our room was updated and the bed comfy, as always, however it appears they didn't update anything in the bathroom other than the counter. The water in the shower was a drizzle, and much to my dismay, they only gave us shampoo and lotion instead of shampoo and conditioner. Luckily my husband was nice enough to run downstairs and get conditioner while I was busy rinsing out lotion from my hair....
The people at the front desk were nice enough. They gave us two drink tickets, which was a nice touch. We took a quick trip to the bar prior to catching our cab to town. I don't think I'd stay here again. It just seemed to be a bit off.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KillaFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear KillaFee,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you like the fine location of our hotel in the area and found our staff to be nice. We would like to apologize for the issues you had with your in-room bathroom and amenities. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Property: Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Address: 300 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth! Our hotel features 130 first class guest rooms just of I-95 at the intersection of Route 1 and the Spaulding Turnpike. Our guests may enjoy a heated indoor pool, fitness center and game room, as well as free wireless high-speed Internet. Our own Cranberries Restaurant serves popular American cuisine and is open for breakfast, dinner and room service daily. Kuzzin's Lounge offers a more casual atmosphere with a lighter selection of great food and drinks. Don't forget, Kids Eat Free with a paying adult. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is conveniently located near historic downtown Portsmouth, the Kittery Outlet Malls, Water Country and New Hampshire and Maine's greatest beaches. We are just minutes from the University of New Hampshire and UNH's Whittemore Center. On property, we have 7 function rooms for business meetings, social events, sports teams and much more. We can accommodate up to 100 people for a banquet and up to 150 people for a business presentation. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is great for both the business traveler and those just looking to escape. Remember, Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing