We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ale House Inn(Portsmouth)
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Portsmouth(Portsmouth)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
76
129
101
40
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
129
101
40
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanoff the highwayroundabout dinerone night staynice staycookiesnew englandindoor poolloungedowntowncoupontub
Filter
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 379 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Maine
12
Reviewed 23 January 2006

Do not stay at this hotel. It was poorly managed by a woman name Shawn MacCaren. It was embarassing to stay there. The food was ok, but service terrible.

Their "happy hour" consisted of hot wings, that's it.

The front desk did not know what was going on at all. Very inexperienced staff. When I wanted to complain about the service and the dirty glasses I was told the manager was not in, though I knew she was.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2005

Portsmouth, NH is a beautiful old city. I'm not sure why the rates are so high at this place but it is not worth it. Fortunately, I was on a business trip and staying in the immediate vicinity wasn't necessary. Room was clean, staff very efficient, the pub has a very good bartender (Rhonda). Free drinks at happy hour from 6-7 PM. The restaraunt had excellent service but the food is not very good and too expensive. (I had the worst Calzone there that I ever attempted to eat.) Try the diner down at the bottom of the hill, there food is very good. Overall stay...OK.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacksonPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
VT
110
Reviewed 13 December 2004

Last year I stayed at this hotel. What a mistake. I brought my family to Portsmouth to visit my sister. As we entered the lobby it was beautiful. The staff made it ugly. The front desk staff was very rude and not very professional. I was checked in after about 15mins. We were on the 5th floor. We had a great veiw of I-95. We droped off our things and went out for the day. About 9pm we returned. The room seemed clean until I went to bed. I pulled the covers down and to my surprise there was a hypodermic needle, a razor blade, and a small pipe inbetween the sheets. I was in shock. I stormed down to the lobby and demanded something be done. The hotel was sold out and housekeeping was gone. The front desk person told me to remove the items from the bed and throw them out. "The manager will move you into a different room in the morning". I went back up to the room and called every hotel in the area. Everything was full. I had no choice. I removed the items from the bed very carefully and checked the bed well before getting in. The next morning the manager was not there and another employee was at the desk. They seemed to have no idea what I was talking about and the manager was not due in until Monday. I requested to be moved and we went out again. We returned around 9pm again. I went to the front desk to get the new room keys. Yet another employee who had no idea what was going on. We never got moved and the manager had never been contacted. We were refused a discount on the room and the mannager never returned my multi. phone calls after we had departed. I have never been to that hotel since and I do not intend to return ever. I strongly do not recomend this hotel to anyone.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2003

As it was going to be out 35th Wedding Anniversary we planned something special for a holiday. We had always wanted to visit New England in the fall and Portsmouth seemed a good place to start. (We are not far from the English version.) We have stayed in Holiday Inns in the UK so when I found there was one in Portsmouth I had no hesitation in booking it.
We stayed for five nights in October of this year. The room was excellent and the service very good. I would recommend the breakfast...it was excellent. The managers cocktail parties are a good and a way of meeting other guests. We had an excellent time....Portsmouth is very lovely and I look forward to the time I will return to the US for another holiday.

9  Thank woodies170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShannonFournier, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews