We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice extended stay hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice extended stay hotel”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This hotel is located only a couple of miles out of downtown Portsmouth. The fireplace in the lobby was a very nice, cozy, warm welcome. Our room was quite large, clean and very comfortable. The Residence Inn provides a dinner on most nights andd breakfast every morning. Having a fitness room and a pool came in very handy. The staff was very nice, warm and friendly. I would definitely stay at this hotel anytime I am in the Portsmouth area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    67
    34
    15
    7
See reviews for
74
46
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel is very well located, an easy walk th the downtown Portsmouth attractions. The service was very pleasant and the rooms were well laid out, clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was good. Our only concern was that valet parking was required, there were no other options.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandJ20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This property was okay and nothing was atrocious, but I wouldn't seek it out again. On the positive side, the room was spacious and, though I didn't really use it, having the kitchenette could certainly provide some level of convenience. However, much of the interior needs updating, for example the carpets are worn (and not clean in the stairwells) and the treadmills in the workout room were, let's just say, "classics." Also, I had a hard time regulating the room temperature. I did appreciate that the staff was very pleasant as everyone greeted me warmly throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBarker34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

...but not as good as other Residence Inns I have visited. The service was friendly and the breakfast was varied and tasty. The front desk's supply of local restaurant menus was extremely limited; especially disappointing since Portsmouth (this place is, I believe, technically in Newmarket in the old Pease AFB, but Portsmouth's downtown is just a few miles down the road) has so many good restaurants. The place was quiet, but my suite was missing a hassock which would have made TV viewing more comfortable (We knew the hassock was missing because it is part of a slide-under-the-table piece that we have seen in other Residence Inns). Rooms were clean and property well kept. With just a little more effort, this place could be excellent.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room away from people who have young children staying with them. Kids who are sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trainman334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was my first time staying here and I have to say we really enjoyed it. The staff was extremely accomodating, and the rooms were clean. We stayed for a girl's weekend and the little kitchen was great to have. Portsmouth is a great place to visit, and this hotel was located very close to everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spbos14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Not impressed by this Residence Inn. I expect much more from a Marriott property. The staff was very nice but that is about the only positive thing I can say. The carpets in the common areas needed vacuuming and the ants crawling around the deck of the indoor pool were a definite turn off. All of the furniture in the room was dirty and stained. I didn't want to sit on any of it. The counter tops looked newer but the cabinets and fridge needed help. Overall it just seemed dingy and in need of updating and cleaning. There are many better places to stay in the Portsmouth area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Mass
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My hat is off to the staff at the Residence Inn at the Pease International Trade port. Our family booked two rooms for this stay and the staff ensured our rooms were located close to each other. The breakfast at this hotel is well done and the staff went out of their way to fill all the small requests we had. Little things that made the meal more enjoyable. The pool at the hotel is bigger than the ones at most Residence Inns and the water temperature was quite comfortable and allowed the children to spend more time burning all that excess energy they have swimming instead of running around. The hotel location is perfect. It is near a lot of family restaurants, a mall and many of the stores we needed to shop at. They really understand service at this hotel. An example: My niece left her favorite blanket at the hotel when they left to go back to NJ. Well the hotel staff found it, washed and dried it and returned it to me before I checked out. This exceeded my expectations and is greatly appreciated. So thank you. This is a great place to stay for business or with the family. thanks

Room Tip: I always like being on the top floor, and the rooms on that floor were quiet. Also rooms in the 302...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RACOURT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth
Address: 1 International Drive, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth, a top choice among extended-stay hotels in Portsmouth, NH. We provide travelers with what they need for a comfortable stay in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, including cozy guest suites and a great central location. Our hotel sits near some of the most popular attractions in Portsmouth including Portsmouth Naval Shipyard and Pease Air Force Base. We are also close to Frank Jones Center, which makes us a great choice among extended-stay hotels in Portsmouth, NH for business travelers. Our hotel offers a free shuttle to and free the airport and we provide grocery shopping service, so you can have the food you need to make meals in your suite. Stay with us for long and short term trips to Portsmouth, New Hampshire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing