We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
537 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“LOVED IT”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here 2 separate times; October 4 & 5, then again October 14, 15, & 16. On the 4 & 5, the rate was very pricey, so I used points. On the 14, 15 & 16, it was much more reasonable to my wallet.

This is a beautiful, huge hotel. Typical residence inn. It is kind of out in the middle of nowhere. There's 2 restaurants right by it. And, down the street a little there are malls, a Walmart, Trader Joes, and chain stores and restaurants. If you go the other way about 2 miles, there's a nice Target which is right by an entrance to I-95. Downtown Portsmouth is about a 10 minute drive (you can't walk to downtown from here). It is very convenient to the Interstate. The hotel has free parking and good free wi-fi.

My suite was perfect. It had a fully equipped kitchen, a separate living space, a nice-sized bathroom, and a super-comfortable king bed. The sheets were clean and fresh and wonderful.

There is a huge lobby where you have breakfast. The (free) breakfast is better than most - full buffet, and the people who work the area were very nice and very efficient. There's a nice fireplace in the dining area. There's also a good business center. There's a pool and gym (but, I use neither).

Within walking distance is a brewery, which is also a restaurant with music entertainment on some nights.

The staff is very nice and helpful. In particular, there was one lady at the desk every morning who was just so pleasant. I am sorry I didn't get her name.

I drove up to Maine for several days, then came back and stayed here again. I will definitely stay here again when I find myself in Portsmouth again. I loved the place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tczig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar-Harbor-Regency, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure that the associates hear your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    64
    34
    15
    7
See reviews for
73
44
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
372 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The staff here is very helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable, and clean. Like many properties, it could use some refreshing. Carpets and linens in our room were clean and like new. Some other areas could use some modern touches. Staff couldn't do enough for us, and went out out their way to help. Good breakfast, and re-filled promptly. Free shuttle to downtown at request. Would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tree56LO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I really like the Residence Inn chain and as I am travelling to look at different colleges it has been my hotel of choice due to the two bedroom set up and overall how generally pleased I have been. This hotel is ok, but clearly not up to the usual Residence Inn. I can say it in one word...dated. The hotel needs a face lift and that is evident in many ways. I won't list them all, as we all know what that means. When that happens, I am sure it will be very nice. Their included breakfast was very nice, and while small, had a decent number of choices. Until it is redone, just know you will be going to a dated and aging hotel and accept that up front.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveVacationGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Though not near the tourist sites, this is a great family destination. Roomy room with the ability to accommodate a family. We took a two room suite that had two baths and a living room. Stayed here two separate visits on the vacation since it was so good.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank USKosherTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This used to be a really good place, but has gone downhill in recent years. On a recent stay, two of the exterior doors were inoperative, and it took over two full days to even get them looked at. No sign of repair to either one after another day.

Strangely, the breakfast offerings are pretty good on the weekend but poor on weekdays.

On the first floor, outside noise from A/C and electrical units is so noticeable that my sleep wasn't as good as it should have been.

The staff is obviously trying their best, but some of them are in a bit over their heads.

The location is good, the facility is mostly good, and there really is no excuse for this not to be a top-notch hotel like it used to be.

Room Tip: Stay off the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braumeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

First of all, any reviews that mention the location as being downtown are referring to the OTHER Residence Inn in Portsmouth. This one is located in an office park a couple miles from downtown Portsmouth.

My daughter goes to boarding school in NH and we are regulars at the Residence Inn in Concord and there is no comparison to this place. We decided to stay here to check out Portsmouth on my husband's birthday after dropping our daughter at school.

I had reserved a 1 bedroom suite and the room is sorely in need of refurbishment. Throw pillows torn, the sofa was stained/worn and the place was just all around not very well maintained. I used an e-cert from the Marriott summer promotion and very happy that I wasn't actually shelling out $$ for this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elynchking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

When we first pulled up the first thing we noticed were dirty windows. Quite offen we judge a restaurant by this first impression..We usually do not go in
However after a long travel day we were greeted by the very friendly manager and staff and they were cooking Hamburgers and Hot Dogs on the grill.. What a treat not to go out again..It was very good.The next day we had a very nice driver take us into town and promptly pick us up when we were ready to go home...Great stay so far...
Upon our arrival after a long tourist day we found our room had never been attended to..Not the worst thing I guess just dissapointed.. We called down to at least get some fresh towels sent up...(Had to call twice) We received some clean towels but when I asked for wash cloths she said the hotel was out? Our nice stay did not end well.. The women at the desk was apologetic but would have liked the manager to follow up...
There are too many nice hotels in the area.. We would not return to this one..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth
Address: 1 International Drive, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth, a top choice among extended-stay hotels in Portsmouth, NH. We provide travelers with what they need for a comfortable stay in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, including cozy guest suites and a great central location. Our hotel sits near some of the most popular attractions in Portsmouth including Portsmouth Naval Shipyard and Pease Air Force Base. We are also close to Frank Jones Center, which makes us a great choice among extended-stay hotels in Portsmouth, NH for business travelers. Our hotel offers a free shuttle to and free the airport and we provide grocery shopping service, so you can have the food you need to make meals in your suite. Stay with us for long and short term trips to Portsmouth, New Hampshire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing