We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff & comfy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Portsmouth
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We recently stayed here as we wanted to "upgrade" from the motel style places in the area. Checkin was very quick & lobby is very inviting. Our room on the top floor was quiet..looked like it may have been recently remodeled with a great fridge microwave coffee area. Fitness room was small but clean & variety of equipment..indoor pool was a plus. Not far from downtown or shopping on other side of Portsmouth. Breakfast cost additional but front desk recommended a small coffee shop in downtown that was delicious & friendly service.Overall wonderful stay great staff great room at a reasonable price..highly recommended !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wagz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived the Courtyard late while traveling to the airport and as always was very pleased by the Marriott touch. The gentleman at the desk was very friendly. The room was very nice and the ac worked really well which is sometimes unusual for a hotel. The bed was very comfy. The entire place was very clean and all set up for Sunday football; wish we could have stayed for the game!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GertieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

stuffy, moldy rooms. staff not friendly or good listeners. good for being close to highway, but better hotels are closer to downtown Portsmouth. bad breakfast. nothing for free/included, which for the rate it should be. rooms not very clean. don't bother.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danes1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

A bit disappointed. Booked hotel weeks ago. No upper floor room available....no Marriott requests acknowledged. Spots on sheets. Tried calling room service several times this morning and they kept hanging up!:-( Positive note: Front desk staff was very friendly and informative.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcolgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Clean Hotel and found the staff friendly and accommodating. ONly stayed 1 night as traveling through but it was great to get a free ride into Portsmouth so you could relax and have a drink after a long days drive. Breakfast was standard for Courtyards but no complaints.
Portsmouth is worth aa look around and seemed home from home as coming from the UK. We ate in a restaurant looking out over the river but can't remember the name but got the feeling most were good.
Hope this review was helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieBoBo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Nice hotel , rooms were clean, hallways and pool area definitely dated> Front Desk staff, and housekeeping very cordial. the hotel is a bit out of the way if you want to be close to the beaches and historic area .Front desk pointed us to a great restaurant " Ristorante Massimo spot on!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesClos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Good little hotel. A bit off the beaten path if you're considering historic Portsmouth. Also, everything is extra, eg newspaper. Judging by reviews, perhaps renovations might be ongoing. Rooms are clean and bright. We travelled for a wedding so were kind of captive. Pool is small and loaded w/kids. Overall good experience. But i must say for being close to the highway it was quiet. No need to fret or fear.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dio1772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portsmouth

Address: 1000 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3358
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £70 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended hotel in historic Portsmouth, New Hampshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Courtyard
Portsmouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing