We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Portsmouth
Nearby Hotels
US$171
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$183
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Portsmouth(Portsmouth)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
72
107
64
29
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
107
64
29
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarriott courtyardoff the highwayshuttle busshuttle servicefitness centerice machinedecent hotela nice place to staynew hampshirebed was very comfortablethird floorshort driveking roomdowntown areakittery outletsfeliciacoffeemaker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had to stop on business trying to make it to New Hampshire in a snowstorm and found this Courtyard which made me feel comfortable. Although a little dated, the location was great, the value was there, and I got a way better than expected salmon dinner which was amazing for a Courtyard of this size. Great job!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tropguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortsmouthCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback, it is the best resource we have as we look for ways to improve both our product and our service. I am glad that our location worked well for you during the recent snowstorm we experienced, and that you were able to get a great meal in our Bistro. Our top priority is to ensure that you have a safe, comfortable, clean, and problem free stay.

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity in the future to once again serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This is a hotel in need of a make-over. Needed a hotel in the area for a quick business trip. The room decor was old. It is next to the major highway. No noise compensation glass windows. I was NOT lulled to sleep by the whoosh of the traffic. It kept me up. In the lobby, cheap paper cut-outs of footballs and other sports motifs to promote watching sports in the bar. Cheap. Like a bad house party put on by C-list relatives.

Room Tip: My advice is to look to the newer Marriott in Downtown Portsmouth. I believe it is a Residence Inn. Not to quote M. Cryus, yet this place need the wrecking ball.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woopiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the Portsmouth Courtyard. Many positives: Price was reasonable, location is very easy (right off of 95) and staff was very nice. Lobby is modern and comfortable and serves Starbucks in the morning. Pool was small but very clean and jaccuzzi was terrific. Room was great for three people. Room included mini fridge, microwave, personal safe, and coffee maker. Wish the beds were larger (two full size rather than double queens) but they were very comfortable. Overall the value was excellent! Would definately come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCBsopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

As is fairly typical at a Marriott property, the staff at the Courtyard in Portsmouth are very customer-focused. Even more so when presented with a problem. The facilities could use some updating - although the gym has a nice selection of cardio equipment and weights, the audio system wasn't working well on some of the equipment. Also, the information with the television stations was not up to date in the gym or in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The night we spent here was average. The breakfast buffet on Sunday was what you would expect from the Courtyard chain. Our room was well away from the elevator and buffered from traffic sounds. Room amenities included a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, which would have been great for a longer stay. The only concern was the cleaning agent used to clean the room. It had a very strong bleach odor. Initially, it was overpowering. Once we opened the slider to the room and ran the fan, most of it dissipated. This Courtyard is not walking distance to Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor, away from the elevator and traffic noise.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel3or6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews