We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Anchorage Inn - Rochester
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rochester
Washburn, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We spent a night of the 22nd of June 2013 in this hotel and found it quite disappointing. The rooms were cracker boxes. VERY TINY.. With two and dresser/ tv stand room very full and made it kind of tough to get around. Bathroom was tiny too. It was very clean though. A free continental breakfast was advertised beginning at 7AM.. Our family went to the breakfast room at 7:15am so it should have been all set up all to find a very limited selection, that included one kind of cereal, a blueberry muffin, coffee or apple juice. Have stayed in many hotels that offer a continental breakfast and I must say this came down as the poorest

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlbemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    19
    9
    7
    13
See reviews for
33
19
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
hammer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had a family reunion at Anchorage Inn Rochester.The rooms were renovated bathrooms were clean the outside is beautiful.we had a chance to have a great picnic with our family. the staff was very helpfuland accomodating.it is a perfect place when you are looking for quiet comfortable place with great service. will be back.

Room Tip: there is no fitness center but long sprawling lawns to walk and exercise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galaxyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davedac12, Manager at The Anchorage Inn - Rochester, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review. It always rewarding to hear we exceeded a guests expectations. We are very appreciative of your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We booked a no smoking room but instead we got a stinky room with an ashtray. This is a motel not a hotel. We only spent one night on our way to Maine but we will not do that again.
The service people were nice but could not help much.
Pool was a bit green.
Breakfast had mostly cereal but no milk!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superwakacje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rochester hotels

footballfan7766
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed 2 years ago and loved this place. There was a manager named Mike, an assistant Manager named Angie and maintenanace man Ray. There all gone!! All we were told is we changed ownership and there no longer here. All I can say is what a shame!!! The accomodations are dirty, poor lighting, poor plumbiing, the pool wasn't even open and its June!! It is an old hotel, but the charm was the grounds, the staff, and the fair price. Its definitely not worth the money anymore.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank footballfan7766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed for 1 night on our way back from Acadia National Park. Came late night of July 3rd, were watching fireworks while driving through MA and NH towns :)
In the morning discovered the beauty of the grounds ;) our dog was happy too. Unfortunately we had no chance to use their outdoor pool, but I could imagine it'd be great.
They have picnic tables and even a grill by the way.
Room was decent, clean, staffed, nothing really to complain about.
Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC_photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at the Anchorage Inn for one night while visiting family. Overall reasonable accommodations. Our room was clean and comfortable--a good value for the price we paid. Breakfast options were fine. There were some odd issues, though the friendly staff quickly remedied them. They had no record of our reservation, even though I'd made it through their website and received a confirmation email. Because we arrived a bit on the late side, they had already closed up for the night when we pulled in. But someone picked up quickly when we called the main number and took care of getting us set up with a room without any trouble. In the morning, we found no milk at breakfast. When we found the staff member on duty, she was very apologetic and immediately ran to the convenience store and picked some up (which took about 2 minutes). All in all, while certainly not fancy, we would stay here again if we needed a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Em32123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We came to stay for a wedding. The accomodations are very tight, not clean, poor lighting, poor plumbiing. It is an old hotel, definitely not worth the money. The website portrays it nicer than it is. The breakfast optins are poor compared to others. People were noisy late at night, in which we had to speak to them. It definitely draws a rougher crowd. My brother reserved a non smoking room on line but it was not reserved when he got there, he is allergic to smoke and had to go somewhere else. If we were smart, we would have too.

Room Tip: Dont stay, very dark rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester
6.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Dover
Hampton Inn Dover
#2 of 5 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
6.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover
18.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Inn - Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Inn - Rochester

Property: The Anchorage Inn - Rochester
Address: 13 Wadleigh Rd, Rochester, NH 03867-3901
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Anchorage Inn - Rochester 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home to the Anchorage Inn of Rochester, a gateway to the New Hampshire's Lakes Region and White Mountains. Just 20 minutes south brings you to historic Portsmouth, ocean beaches and the factory outlet malls of Kittery. 30 minutes north brings you to the splendor of the White Mountains or the charm and fun of Lake Winnipesaukee. Just 20 minutes south brings you to historic Portsmouth, ocean beaches, tax-free shopping at area malls and the factory outlet malls of Kittery. 30 minutes north brings you to the splendor of the White Mountains or the charm of Lake Winnipesaukee. Our property is surrounded by trees, lush lawns a pond for nature lovers. an outdoor pool (seasonal)for relaxation picnic areas (barbecue grills on site) Take a hike or take a nature walk..There is plenty here to fit your lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Anchorage Inn - Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing