We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester
Nearby Hotels
US$90
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$130
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$152
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
87
56
16
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
56
16
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew hampshirepool and hot tubmexican restaurant next doorparking lotbed and pillowsthree night stayfree breakfast in the morningpancake makerbreakfast offeringstwo nightsawesome staygreat propertymodern amenitiesoff the highwaylakes regioneasy accessbusiness trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We recently stayed in the Holiday Inn Express in Rochester,NH. We were there to visit family. Checking in was smooth and quick. They were very nice. The room was very clean and neat and each day we left to go out, we came back to it just as clean. The pool area was very nice,but did smell heavier than normal of chlorine. It was in my nose! I did go into the hot tub but not the pool. You can't really complain too much about that, you know it's clean! The only bad thing I would have to say about this hotel is that it does have smoking rooms. Even in the hall where all our rooms were suppose to be smoke free, I could smell it! I hate and despise the smell of smoke. We came in one afternoon and a bunch of the maids were smoking outside the side door and another time some other workers and one front door worker were smoking out front. What people don't get is if the maid that smokes is also the one cleaning your room, then guess what? Your going to smell it! I am very sensitive to it. Honestly have to say, my room did not smell of it, even if the hallway did, so thank God for that. Some places will pass off a room that allowed smoking in it and at this hotel, if you smoke in a room not designated for it,you will be charged an extra cleaning fee. In Florida, almost every hotel has become a smoke free environment. Marriott is a company that does not allow it. I hate to say it, but if there was a Marriott in Rochester, I would have to choose that just for that reason. Oh and they DO have one of the best breakfast for a hotel that is free that I have ever seen!!!!

Room Tip: We chose a suite cause we have a 14 and 12 yr old that refuse to share a bed. They actually fought over who was going to use the pull out! I usually hate those, but this one was nice!So if needing a suite for that reason its nice to know a head of time.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmogal_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bball3332, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for the great comments. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will be soon having less smoking rooms, we do understand the importance of not having them. We hope to see you again in the futre, and so happy that the breakfast was so good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights at this Holiday Inn Express. It is easy to find, there is plenty of parking, check-in was effortless. The person at the front desk was really personable and helpful. Don't know if it is a new building but it is spotless throughout. We had a king bed
room, there was plenty of space, a desk with chair, an easy chair and small movable table as well as all the usual hotel room furniture. The HVAC was easy to control and the room climate was much more comfortable than we normally experience - either too hot or too cold, or fans are too noisy. In temperate seasons it looks like you can actually open the windows, if you want.
The bathroom was great for us, some may not like that there was just one sink, but that works for us. There was no tub but a tub sized shower which we found bordering on luxurious.
There is an indoor pool and even a hot tub. The pool is kind of small and shallow (5 ft), but it
is just right or relaxing. My wife thought the water temp was bracing, but she soon got used to it.
There is a small fitness room with three rooms right next door. One small downside is if you are not staying on that floor and on that side of the building you will likely need to cut through the lobby to get to the pool, unless you want to take a long walk. The pool towels are pretty small, but the hotel did the nice touch or putting one on every chair and lounge in the pool area. I appreciate this attention to detail.
Now for one of the best features, the hotel offers free hot breakfast every day; eggs plus bacon or sausages, hash or sausage gravy (mmm!), biscuits, toast, cereal, juice and fruit, etc., etc. The room where they serve this is well appointed. Be advised this is not a restaurant, they offer breakfast only as a courtesy to guests. There are a number of restaurants in the area and on the same road (Rte 11) ,where you should be able to find lunch or dinner.
One more thing. When we first arrived it was chilly out, my wife was afraid we may need an extra blanket. I noticed the housekeeping cart down the hall from our room and asked the maid for a blanket, she immediately got me one that was extra thick. Thankfully we didn't need it because of the previously praised HVAC.
If you're going to Rochester, NH I would highly recommend this Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bball3332, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you very much the wonderful comments. It is so nice that we could help you and that you found alot of our hotel to be very accomodating. It is an absolute pleasure to serve all our guests. We again thank you very much and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel is an excellent example of a well maintained and clean chain hotel. The staff is fantastic and the rooms are nicely sized, well appointed and comfortable. The swimming pool and hot tub area is exceptionally clean and maintained. The breakfast choices are nicely varied , well presented and the dining area is kept very clean and tidy. This hotel is well situated for easy access to the area sights, restaurants, etc yet still sits close to large trees and one can enjoy the fresh smell of the New Hampshire woods. Free internet, free breakfast, nice clean room and a wonderful and professional staff make this a great stay.

Room Tip: The mini suites are excellent and gives you room to work and sit as well as just sleep.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelforfun996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bball3332, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for such wonderful comments, we truely apprecaite everything you said. We hope to provide that same service to you again in the future. Thank you again so much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Seems to be our habit on a road trip to arrive in the late evening to hotels...we had a polite check-in and the room was fine, however, food of any kind was unavailable. Breakfast was okay...fruit would have made it more nutritious.

Thank goodness we drove back into Portsmouth where we had the best lunch ever before continuing on with our road trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bball3332, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for the great comments. Sorry our breakfast wasn't available when you came down in the morning. Our hours are 630am to 930am Monday thru Friday and 700am to 1000am on Saturday and Sunday. Sounds like you had a wonderful lunch.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Staff great clean rooms.suite was small disappointed that was one room setting area and bedroom not divided. Not great for families. Loved the desk clearness who were helpful and pleasant.
Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asherwoo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bball3332, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for the wonderful comments. We do have 2 rooms available in the hotel that have a seperate sleeping area. They are called th Executive Suites. They have a King size bed in the sleeping room, with a pull out sofa and small fridge and microwave.

Thank you again, we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews