We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll DEFINITELY stay here again!”
Review of Dunes Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rye Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunes Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Rye Beach B&B and Inns
Walden, New York, United States
1 review
“I'll DEFINITELY stay here again!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed at the Dunes Motor Inn from 9/9-9/11/2013, and it more than met my expectations! The room was lovely and clean and the bed was comfortable. The ocean view from the room and the balcony outside was priceless and the close proximity to the beach was such a plus. The pool was sparklingly clean.The staff was professional, warm, welcoming, and helpful. The continental breakfast was wonderful. The fact that they were pet-friendly was the icing on the cake, since I go nowhere without my little dog! The whole experience was completely positive, with no negatives whatsoever. And I WILL be staying here again!

Room Tip: get an upstairs room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyeBeach2281, Manager at Dunes Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Ruth S,

How exciting for us to see such a glowing review. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with this review. Please know, that we take our survey's and reviews to heart and will indeed share with our associates how special they made you feel during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    10
    10
    2
    9
See reviews for
17
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have been travelling to New Hampshire for the past 3 years and each time have stayed here at the Dunes for a long weekend. The hotel is located far enough away from the center of Hampton Beach where it is not as crowded. It is an average hotel not necessarily updated with the best accommodations but if you are staying in this part of New Hampshire your reason is to be at the beach and see the sights, not to stay in your hotel room.

The hotel comes equipped with a nice restaurant with a friendly staff and cheap prices. The food was actually very good each time we stayed here too.

Jenness Beach is directly across the street and next door is a surf shop and grocery store with essentials and beer and wine.

We like it and would recommend it for those who just need a place to sleep in the right area for chilling out on the beach.

Room Tip: The second floor, to me, is of better value. You have a better view of the ocean and it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SHANNON F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyeBeach2281, Manager at Dunes Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Shannon F.,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We value guest feedback as it allows us to constantly improve upon the guest experience. We apologize that the room was not up to your standards. When time and finances allow, we make updates to the rooms.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the restaurant!! It is certainly a great asset to our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I came here a few weeks ago and my oh my this place looks a lot better the hallway upstairs was redone and looks bright and clean, the maids do a fantastic cleaning job and if you have any other questions just ask them and they help right away! The office staff is always smiling and glad to help ! This place is clean and friendly, did I mention how beautiful the pool looked this year. If you want a clean, cozy place next to the ocean the dunes is the place !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Army4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you are looking for the Taj Mahal, this isn't it, you can go to other seacoast towns for that. This is an incredibly clean, fun, family oriented place. It is a 60's throwback in time to the days of Motor Inn's. You can see that as soon as you pull up; so reviews that put the place down, must pull in with blinders on. There are no false pretenses here. If you want a clean, comfortable bed, a great pool, a continental breakfast, and a fantastic ocean right across the street, then the Dunes is the place to be. Families, couples and friends, return several times a season, and many have been coming back to the Dunes for years. The staff works very hard to please the guests. It is family owned; not a chain. There is a free continental breakfast, with great food choices; and a pizza/grinder shop, that has fantastic pizza, and even does breakfast. Fifteen minutes either way to Hampton or downtown Portsmouth. You cannot beat this location. Come to Jenness Beach and have a blast at the Dunes. I live nearby, and enjoyed working there for three seasons, and have had many friends and family stay at the Dunes. B. Hughes, Rye, NH

Room Tip: If you want a great ocean view, choose the upper deck rooms, but my favorites are the rooms above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BowieMoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollis, NH
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is certainly a family oriented but VERY nice motor inn. The location is by far awesome as you are a few steps away from a very lovely beach. The grounds are well maintained and their flower gardens are lovely. The motor inn has a rather large pool area which is very well kept. I do have a granddaughter who works here but had never been before and was very surprised. Our room was very basic, but most importantly very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Seven of us had dinner one night in their restaurant and all of us were very satisfied with the qualify of the food from lobster (twin lobster dinner for only $17) to scallops, to chicken bernaise as well as their children's selections and "fried pickles" to begin with which were so tasty. Wait-staff was great and their FREE continental breakfast is larger than most motels/motor inns provide and great way to start the day. I travel quite extensively each year and I feel that the negative reviews are from folks who have not kept up with the price of travel. We had two full beds and plenty of room for only $158 a night which included breakfast for four of us. This to me is a BARGAIN due to location of the facility, the pool and restaurant right there. This saved us much time looking and getting stuck in traffic during the very busiest times for vacationing in the Rye/Hampton Beach area of New Hampshire.
If you are looking for the Ritz it is not, but if you want a clean room with a wonderful location that is very clean, run do not walk to the Dunes. By the way....say "hi" to my granddaughter Meagan who works nights at the Motor Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PegJacNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

The Dunes motor inn is the place to be. Beautiful views, lovely staff, great management. Everyone is very helpful, always smiling. The pool is absolutely gorgeous, water glistening in the sun. I wish it wasn't seasonal, I would come stay year round. If your ever out on the coast of route 1A looking for a place to stay, this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addsmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great location right across the street from Jenness State Park beach but that's the only good thing about this place. As most of the other reviews say, the rooms are in desperate need of updating. Rooms need new furniture, beds, linens, towels, bathroom fixtures,TV (from this century please), AC, window screens, carpeting, fridge. The shower alternates between scalding and freezing water. The parking lot is over crowded. The floors sag. There are constant clouds of cigarette smoke wherever you are on the property. The wifi comes and goes. Plus it is very overpriced for what little you get. Avoid this place if you want to have a comfortable, pleasant, clean place to stay. I'd never return. Chris T

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank afiabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyeBeach2281, Manager at Dunes Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Afiabelle,

Please know that we welcome your feedback and are very sorry that you experienced a less than perfect vacation experience at our inn.
Your comments have been shared with the owner and we will do our best to address them. We do updates as time and finances allow.....new carpets, paint, new linens are purchased every season, etc.
There is one parking space for each room. Unfortunately, some people bring 2 or 3 cars and don't park in our other parking lot. We do try our best to keep an eye on this.
The WIFI situation has been addressed and hopefully is working properly.
Rest assured, our prices are very competitive with the surrounding area businesses.
We truly hope that you will give us another chance in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rye Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rye Beach
5.5 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
4.5 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
5.1 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Motor Inn

Property: Dunes Motor Inn
Address: 2281 Ocean Blvd, Rye Beach, NH 03871-9008
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Rye Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rye Beach
Number of rooms: 45

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing