We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendliness, comfort & good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salem (I-93 at exit 2)
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salem
Bronxville, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“friendliness, comfort & good food”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

What makes a hotel/motel great -? I thought about that here as I was so comfortable & pleased - it's happy, causal, kind & friendly employees are proud of their hotel & to me that "makes" a place. This is a clean & comfortable hotel & a good value...this was a quick stop on our way to drop one of my kids at camp - it was perfect. The restaurant there is also terrific - Margaritas had great food & service - I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Indimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salem (I-93 at exit 2), responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and your kind review! We are so proud of our property, and our newly renovated lobby! We are going to be renovating the rooms at the end of this year the beginning of next year, so hopefully, they will be ready in time for camp next year! Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    69
    46
    14
    10
See reviews for
92
34
12
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night for a wedding. Several minutes after getting into my room the door was opened by another hotel guest who had apparently been assigned to the same room. So that was a first. The facilities were nice enough but I felt the price ($150) was awfully steep for the location and the quality of the hotel. And the staff in Margaritas is very rude. I would look elsewhere if returning to this area again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reber1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salem (I-93 at exit 2), responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Reber1024,

Thank you so much for your feedback, for you recent stay with a wedding. We do apologize about the inconvenience of having someone else being assigned your room, we understand that mistakes like these can be unsettling, and we strive to ensure that this never happens. We are happy that you found the facility nice, and do apologize that the rate seemed high for the area. We have a great team here in Salem that works very hard to keep the rates in line with our competition, summer time in the Boston-Salem is very busy. We apologize that the Margarita's staff seemed rude, we will share your feedback with the Margarita's Management. We strive for the best Guest satisfaction possible, we do apologize that your experience was not up to our usual high quality. We really hope that this experience will not deter you from trying our property again. Please if you are in the give our management team a call and we will ensure that you get the best rate we have available! Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel is old - not sure when it was built but, the ceilings are low, the smell is "must" and the technology is decorative rather than functional.
Let's start with the elevators. Slow and the interior is retro but not in a good way. When you do manage to get to the floor you selected, you find more retro on the floors, walls and doors. Who wallpapers doors anymore? C'mon, let's move into this century. Dark and dingy is not in, light and airy is..
Breakfast is hit and miss. Bacon tasted like it was three days old, potatoes were greasy and not hot but the eggs were properly cooked. French toast was great one day, passable another. Service is friendly and efficient. Coffee is awful!
For all of all the hotels in this area why, oh why, do they never put a phone on the desk? Why have a desk with a phone jack and no phone? When you do talk on the telephone it sounds like you are talking through a vacuum cleaner in an echo chamber.
Internet service is terrible. Between the hours of 6 and 11, don't bother trying to get anything done. Calling the service spotty is an understatement. Television is another one of those mysteries that haven't been resolved. Changing channels takes practice as most of the time, when you do, the screen is black with a message "Tuning... please wait..." Really?
Bathroom amenities are good, towels are good and the beds are comfortable but, like all old hotels, you can't open or close the bathroom door when the floor mat is down.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salem (I-93 at exit 2), responded to this review, 16 June 2014
JPMorgan,
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback! We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to review our property. We are glad that you enjoyed the service of the hotel, but are sad that we missed the mark on some of our amenities. We have recently renovated our lobby, and at the end of this 2014 through the beginning of 2015 we will be renovating our guest rooms to correct that "retro" feel. You seem to travel very often, and know what business travelers are looking for, we will most certainly use your suggestions when considering the guest room renovations. Thank you for letting us know that our eggs in the restaurant are up to par, but the bacon and French toast can use some consistency, and our home fries could be warmer. We will share your feedback with our restaurant stuff and work to perfect these inconsistencies. We hope that you will stay with us in the future so you can see the hotel transformation! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here the night before closing on our new home. The old one was already empty. This hotel was excellent. Clean room, quiet (despite being near Rt93) comfortable and we got a good night's sleep. The breakfast, with table service, was very, very good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salem (I-93 at exit 2), responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Nancy N.

First of all Congratulations on your new home! Thank you for staying with us during your transition.We know it can be difficult in-between moving and selling a home! We hope you got settled in quickly and smoothly! We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast, but I am sure that it isn't as nice as being able to cook in a nice new kitchen! We hope, that if you have family in the area, or if you need a hotel you will look to us first! Thank you so much for your kind review and staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I booked about 25 rooms here for my daughter's wedding last weekend. During the ten month wedding planning process, the hotel was renovated. We were very pleasantly surprised to see the beautiful improvements made! Our wedding was a destination for many guests, so I made frequent calls during the year to check in on our bookings. The staff is extremely friendly and professional! The breakfast room is very spacious and bright and was a super gathering space for our guests. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conndiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salem (I-93 at exit 2), responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Conndiller,

Firstly, thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to host your friends and family , during this special time for you and your daughter! We are so glad you got to see the before and after of our renovation, we are super excited about the outcome! We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your interactions with our staff, we do pride ourselves on great guest service, and strive to make all of our guest family moments memorable. We hope that if you are in the area again you will visit us! Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I had stayed here before as I was taking a 2-day class in the area. It was a nice surprise to see how modern the reception and breakfast (Sunrise Cafe) areas had been refurbished.

Bed was very comfortable and nice layout of room. Despite facing the Interstate and having the window opened (~4" - max allowance), the traffic noise was not disturbing.

The downside was the TV. Flatscreen, but it seemed that about every 5-10mins the image would freeze for a few seconds and then skip forward. This was annoying. We brought it to the receptionist's attention and she did offer to change our room, but we felt this problem was more geared to the provider.

Also, the lack of plugs. My husband now has a CPAP machine which needs to be plugged straight into an outlet without the use of an extension cord - we managed to find one behind the bed and had to push the mattress away. Other ones within view were in use by lamps, radio/alarm clock, fridge, TV. A freed up outlet by the night tables would be nice. We also need to power laptops and cell phones.

There is a Margarita's on site, though we did not dine there, but my husband did bring up a delicious avocado dip to our room. Breakfast is extra at the Sunrise Cafe, which we did not use. There is also a pool onsite, both covered and open to air. Ample free parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank br_luv2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salem (I-93 at exit 2), responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and your thoughtful review! We are glad that you had comfortable and quiet stay. Thank you for letting us know about the T.V. issue. We will call the company and have them come and do a check up visit to make sure everything is in working order. I will get with our maintenance department and see if we can do something about adding more outlets during our upcoming renovations on our guest rooms. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you if you are in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed here for a sporting event we were hosting in town. The staff was extremely helpful and always friendly to our group, even when we had to make multiple changes to the rooming list. They made us feel at home during our week stay with them. We enjoyed the convenience of having a restaurant on site, free wi-fi, and computer access. The manager even printed documents for us from his own computer. The complementary coffee and afternoon baked goods was an added treat as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salem (I-93 at exit 2), responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and allowed us to accommodate your guest during this particular event. I know the staff here had just as much fun with your group, and are thrilled that you enjoyed our service. We hope that you stay with us for your next event! We appreciate you staying with us and your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Salem
Red Roof Inn Salem
#3 of 4 in Salem
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem
1.3 mi away
Park View Inn Inc.
Park View Inn Inc.
#1 of 4 in Salem
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Andover
3.6 mi away
Days Hotel & Conference Center - Methuen MA
6.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Salem (I-93 at exit 2)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salem (I-93 at exit 2)

Property: Holiday Inn Salem (I-93 at exit 2)
Address: 1 Keewaydin Dr, Salem, NH 03079-2840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Salem (I-93 at exit 2) 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn hotel in Salem, New Hampshire! A friendly, full-service, extended stay NH hotel located 35 miles north of Boston in Salem's corporate business park, just off I-93. Our hotel is near Canobie Lake Park, tax-free Rockingham Mall, Rockingham Race Track and Salem ICENTER! The Holiday Inn Salem is a non-smoking NH hotel featuring 109 modern guest rooms and suites. We offer free, wireless, high-speed Internet access, indoor, heated pool, hot tub, exercise facility, outdoor seasonal pool, 24-hour business center, and ATM on property. Hotel pool memberships and pool parties are also welcome.Kids 12 & under Stay & Eat Free at Holiday Inn hotel Salem at our two on-site restaurants. Choose from a variety of delicious, fresh, breakfast items at the Sunrise Cafe(C). Margaritas, an authentic Mexican restaurant, offers a lively lounge atmosphere. Holiday Inn Salem is a New Hampshire, extended stay, corporate hotel near Northeast, AirGas, Gates Mectol, Profit Key Paymentech and many more! NH universities and colleges near hotel: Hesser College, Southern NH University and Merrimack College are just moments away! New Hampshire wedding facilities near hotel: Promises to Keep, Castleton, Searles Castle, Granite Rose, Zorvino Vineyard and Atkinson Country Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Salem (I-93 at exit 2) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing