We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B&B, you will not be dissapointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lake House at Ferry Point
Ranked #1 of 2 Sanbornton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A Great Big Thanks to John and Cindy who run this Fantastic B&B. Nothing was too much trouble for My Mum, Sisters and Me.
John your cooking is FAB!
It was a pleasure to meet you both, and if I am up your way once again I will call in to say Hello.
The Squam lake tour was your recommendation and it was a great treat for Mum. It was a High Light of our Holiday.
(Plus the Kayaking on your Lake) What a Laugh!
I highly recommend The Lake House at Ferry port.

Room Tip: They are all excellent!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfer176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Paul, Thank you for your kind words. We had a lovely time meeting you and celebrating your Mum's 90th birthday trip to New England with the four of you. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you all again before to long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for The Lake House at Ferry Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

I just spent a fantastic 3 days at the most wonderful B&B ever! The locale was breathtaking (Squam Lake-aka where "On Golden Pond" was filmed), the most warm and kind hosts, not to mentioned the amazing breakfasts-I didn't want to go home and neither will you! You should definitely check this place out-it is amazing and no other place will compare! (& I'll definitely be heading back soon myself as soon as time from work will allow)...

Room Tip: The Opechee was great, but will definitely check out the Sunapee on my next visit!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Jeanine, Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you and having time to chat a little and expose you to Geocaching. The Inn will be open all Winter starting this year, and it should be a perfect place for a winter getaway. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This was the second time we have stayed with Cindy and John. The first time it was just Pam and I, this time it was with Pam's adult daughters. Both times we had a wonderful weekend, with great breakfasts, and relaxing sojourns on the porch and gazebo. The loons were out, and we even spotted a pair of bald eagles while kayaking. The Inn is cozy, and our rooms had gorgeous views of the lake. You can always count on your hosts to give you great recommendations for activities or dinner, and if traffic makes you late to arrive, John will be waiting for you. This will be our go to place for the Lakes region as long as John and Cindy own it. Couldn't have been more satisfied.

Room Tip: Try for a Lake view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Brian, Thank you for your kind words. Things are winding down here at the Lake House, but we are getting ready for what we hope to be a big winter season, now that we have the Inn opened all year round. It was a pleasure having you and Pam back to stay with us, and we really enjoyed meeting Pam's daughters as well. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

John and Cindy were great hosts, really helpful, in touch before and after our stay. Fire lit on a cold evening and the most delicious cookies always available. We would not hesitate to recommend The Lake House.

Room Tip: Ground floor room great for us "oldies"
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PENELOPE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for your review Penelope. We really enjoy our Inn and are glad that it shows through, at least to some extent. We look forward to having you return someday when your travels bring you to New Hampshire. It was a pleasure meeting you and Trevor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

OK, how exactly would a nice, clean, tidy inn at a peaceful spot on a beautiful lake run by gracious hosts, be a place to enjoy a race? Well, I guess I have some explaining to do... First off, we're race fans! We came to the area to enjoy a NASCAR race held nearby this past September. We stayed with John and Cindy (Libby, Jack and Tim too) at their inn for the entire weekend. Arrived early Friday afternoon and was welcomed by John (who spotted us in the parking lot and made a point to leave his 'project' for a few minutes and greet us). After chatting for a few minutes we received a grand tour of the inn. At some point we met up with Cindy - she too took the time to come greet us, share some thoughts chat about where we came from, where we were going, so on and so forth. Had a fun time chatting with the both of them for a few minutes. We then stashed our luggage with (John and Cindy) until check in time and headed to the track....

The inn itself is a wonderful place. With a spectacular view of the lake and a spacious and 'well furnished' porch to enjoy the view, sitting there was a great way to start (or end) the day. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. All amenities close by and an open invitation to ask if something else is needed. Something we didn't need to do but would have been very at ease in doing had it been necessary. A 'common' room with comfortable furniture, a TV, lots of movies, books, games etc. Breakfast - wonderful! On time, a great portion (not too small, not too big), served promptly and hot. Of course very tasty! The dining area is very comfortable and welcoming - we did not feel rushed or abandon while eating our meal. The innkeepers do provide towels for swimming, kayaks for kayaking - I think they do have other boats (a canoe? a row boat?) can't recall specifically but the guests are welcome to use them as they are available. The innkeepers do maintain an area by the lake with their own dock, outdoor chairs etc. Kind of like your own private spot on the lake....

The area surrounding the inn? The inn is located on a quiet spot on the lake. only a few miles to the (what I'm assuming is) the main road around the lake. Close to 'everything' but still far enough away to maintain all that small country in charm and of course the peace and quiet. We were there for the race of course but it didn't take long to discover that many fun things to see and do were close by.

Why a perfect place to enjoy a race? Well, number one, it's very close to the track. Just a few miles away. Great for the Sunday morning and evening rush. We took in the entire race weekend so we truly enjoyed the atmosphere of a quiet and casual (and comfortable) inn at the end of a day at the track. No question we were there for the speed, action, noise, etc. but coming back to the inn every night really allowed us to enjoy the day we just had and rest up for the next day.

All in all, a terrific stay! We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: All rooms are great - if possible, get the ones with the view of the lake.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review, Daniel. We look forward to race weekends at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, and we enjoyed having you, Stephanie, and Susan stay with us, and look forward to you returning next year. We are constantly updating the Inn, and look forward to showing you the changes when you come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The Lake House is a cozy and tasteful 10-room Victorian style inn with wonderful views of Lake Winnisquam from most rooms. We had a simple room that suited our single night perfectly. There was ample space to move around, a great new bed and our own bath across the hall (for which they provide fluffy terrycloth robes). Along with fresh baked cookies when we arrived in the evening there was a nice selection of self-serve tea and coffee in the breakfast room and a welcome package in the room with snacks and necessities. They've also thought to provide a small refrigerator on the second floor for guests to use. The location is a great base for many activities; we went for a hike the next day (well rested) then returned to the inn for a swim. We enjoyed the company of the hosts, John and Cindy, who were generous with their time, and especially the breakfasts they serve: wow. We prepared for the hike with a hearty breakfast of a fruit cup, tiny pumpkin muffins, and a quiche-like main dish with a side of asparagus in Hollandaise. Nothing to want. Wish we had more time to spend here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisono190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed having you stay with us, and hope to see you both again soon. Although the lake is cooling off, it is still great for swimming, and should be for a few weeks still. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish it could have been more. John and Cindy were wonderful hosts with plenty of recomendations for places to eat and things to do. But in the end what we enjoyed most was just sitting by the lake. Even the room we stayed in, the Winnesquawm Room, had 2 over stuffed chairs that were perfect for sitting by the open window overlooking the lake. We also got to take out the 2 kayaks provided by the B&B for a relaxing morning paddle around the lake. Can't wait to get back for another getaway.

Room Tip: The Winnesquawm Room has the perfect comfy chairs for sitting to read while overlooking the lake. Th...
Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank davejoyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. We enjoyed having you stay with us, and look forward to your return. The kayaks are enjoyed by many many guests and we are happy that you enjoyed them too. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanbornton
6.6 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
490 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
329 reviews
3.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
762 reviews
4.0 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
669 reviews
8.1 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House at Ferry Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House at Ferry Point

Address: 100 Lower Bay Rd, Sanbornton, NH 03269-2709 (Formerly Ferry Point House Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Sanbornton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanbornton
Price Range: £148 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake House at Ferry Point 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake House at Ferry Point is the only lakefront bed and breakfast in New Hampshire's Lakes Region. On our quiet, scenic property, you will be treated to idyllic views of Lake Winnisquam and its glistening water, our luscious gardens, and guardian mountains in the distance. The Lake House at Ferry Point is the perfect New Hampshire Inn. At our lake front location you will enjoy relaxing on the big front porch, or if you prefer a more activity-filled lake house getaway, we are conveniently located near all of the best attractions that New Hampshire has to offer. You will love our comfortable ambiance, delectable breakfasts and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lake House at Ferry Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing