We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect way to bring in the New Year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lake House at Ferry Point
Ranked #1 of 2 Sanbornton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect way to bring in the New Year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was the ultimate way to bring in the New Year 2014....excellent accommodations, new friends and a fantastic fire place! My friend and I stayed here for two nights to bring in the new year and visit the new Hampshire area. It was wonderful!!! The innkeepers were very nice and knowledgeable of the area. We took a day trip to the white mountains to take a trek up the mountain on one of the tours. We missed the tour, but the scenic drive was breathtaking. Lake Winnisquam was frozen over and beautiful! Breakfast was so delicious each morning, including the homemade muffins with fruit filling. I loved that we could make hot apple cider with the Keurig. Next time we are in New England, we will definitely plan a trip to the Lake House again!

Room Tip: The Lake Winnisquam room has a beautiful view of the Lake, which is even more amazing a sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaPeach26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Stephanie, thank you for your review. It was a pleasure meeting both of you, and ringing in the new year with you. As I write this, the tulips are in bloom and the ice is out of the lake. We are ramping up for what promises to be a great summer. The kayaks are at water's edge, and the wicker is out on the porch. We look forward to seeing you both back to enjoy New Hampshire in the warmer weather. Hope to see you again before to long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
123
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Candia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

When booking a place to stay on-line, there is that wonder of… Am I going to get what I am paying for? Book the Lake House at Ferry Point with confidence. The Inn owners have found their niche in life. The personality and service of the owners is half the experience. The wonderful accommodations make this an excellent well rounded experience. The home itself is decorated with taste. The colors are calming. Every room has large windows, and the views of Lake Winnisquam are phenomenal. Everything was VERY CLEAN and the bed was comfortable. I was awed by the mineral rock fire place. The mineral rocks used were quarried from the Ruggles Mine when the mine was an operating quarry. The fire place is a museum quality work of art. They owners are genuine good folks and the Inn itself has a wonderful "life is good" feel.

PS: When I read this review to my husband before posting, his response was "Amen to that".

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plante2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thanks for your review. The fire place really is a special feature of this old house. Being from New Hampshire, you know that you can visit Ruggles Mine, where all the rocks and minerals came from to build the fireplace, over a century ago. I hope the pictures you took all turned out. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

My friend and I stayed at The Lake house at the Ferry Point for 5 nights. It was absolutely beautiful. We stayed at the Winisquam room for 3 nights and Wentworth room for 2 nights. The Winisquam has a gorgeous view of the lake while the Wentworth lake has a little more modern feel with a two persons Jacuzzi Tub just as described on their website. I personally like the Wentworth room a little more since its a little more new compares to the Winisquam. I felt like I had to walk gentle when I was in the Winisquam room. We especially enjoyed the home cooked breakfast by our hosts and chef John. Those are not typical breakfast you can have at any chains such as Denny, IHop etc. Libby who is the hosts daughter cleaned our rooms. She is very hard working and was very friendly. we had 5 relaxing and peaceful days. I love the Lake House and definitely come again and again to visit John, Cindy and everyone. Their friendliness, and interesting personal stories definitely add personality to the Lake house !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieLuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you both stay with us. I hope you had a great time in New England, all the way from California. We look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We vacationed at Ferry Point from 3/5-3/7. The experience was phenominal!! The hosts were very gracious and hospitable and the accomodations were impecable. Location was beautiful and the breakfasts were delightful. We have been to a number of B&Bs- this one was the best! We will definitely return for another great visit. Thank you John and Cindy for being so warm and friendly and making our stay truly memorable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for your review Bill. We had so much fun talking to the four of you. I am glad you enjoyed your evenings sitting by the fire, and some of the great restaurants we have here. We look forward to seeing you all back again before to long! The ice should be out of the lake in the next couple of weeks, and then swimming won't be far off! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My girlfriend and I went and visited this the Lake House on a weekend in February. We had not been to a B&B before, but we found a coupon for it so we thought we would give it a shot. The house is very easy to get to, and it is right on the lake, has a great view. Although we came in the winter, we have already talked about coming back in the summer. Cindy and John were great, very helpful with recommendations of things to do, offered to get us reservations, etc. It was nice and relaxing to be able to come back after a day out and sit by the fire or in our room with a cup of hot chocolate or tea, which was always available in the dining room.

The breakfast was also great, just like we read about. Everything was fresh and it was different than just going to a typical restaurant, since you get that home-cooked taste. Although we didn't need any, we heard other tables need adjustments made to their menu, and Cindy and John seemed to be able to do it with just a little notice.

Overall, I would certainly recommend this place for a stay. It has a convenient location for shopping at the Tanger Outlets or Skiing at Gunstock, and the service was excellent. And the beds were so comfortable, we decided to order the same sheets that they use!

Room Tip: Lake Winnesquam room has a great view of the lake, tends to get a good amount of sunlight. Bed is pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Matt, Thank you for the review. We are always happy when guests try out a B&B for the first time, and they choose us as their first! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The area has a lot to do in the Winter season, but you will really enjoy the summer. We have kayaks for you to use, as well as a peddle boat. The water warms up and is wonderful for swimming right from our little beach! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Went up to NH this past weekend with my boyfriend and had a wonderful time. The Lake House was very inviting, cozy, and a perfect get away if you are looking for a relaxing vacation. Cindy and John, the inn keepers are very kind, hospitable and friendly. Breakfast both mornings was delicious and plentiful. Gunstock mountain is about 20 minutes away and a great ski. Would definitely recommend and look forward to going back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Stephanie, Thank you for your review. It was great to meet you and Daniel, and we are glad that the two of you had a great time. Gunstock mountain is a great place to ski and play all year round. We are glad to have them just 10 minutes away from the Inn. We look forward to seeing you again, when you need to get away and relax!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My boyfriend and I spent the weekend here and we cannot rave enough about this B&B. Cindy and John were beyond helpful and attentive from the moment we set foot to the moment we left. They offer great suggestions on where to go varying on what you're looking to do and even make reservations for you! We stayed in the Lake Winnisquam room and had the most amazing view of the lake, which was covered in ice/snow. The room doesn't share walls with any other room which gives it a much more intimate/private feel. The house overall is beautiful - a huge granite fireplace and large windows overlooking the lake. There is plenty to do if you like the outdoors, plenty of wineries to visit, Tanger Outlet Mall if you like to shop, and amazing restaurants like The Local Eatery if you're a foodie. We look forward to going back in the summer and enjoying the beautiful lake. We strongly recommend this place for a romantic weekend getaway.
My boyfriend proposed to me while watching the sunrise from our room (yes, the view is that great!) and this B&B will forever represent a magic and beautiful moment.

Room Tip: The only TV in the house is in the living room. At first, you feel like you won't be able to mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Rosemary, Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure meeting you and getting to know you and Randal. You mentioned that your room (Lake Winnisquam) doesn't share walls with any other room. Since we have completed our renovation of the Webster Lake room, NONE of our rooms share walls with any other bedroom. Kind of a neat feature for a 200 year old house! We look forward to seeing the two of you again before to long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanbornton
3.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
15.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
4.0 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#6 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House at Ferry Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House at Ferry Point

Property: The Lake House at Ferry Point
Address: 100 Lower Bay Rd, Sanbornton, NH 03269-2709 (Formerly Ferry Point House Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Sanbornton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanbornton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake House at Ferry Point 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake House at Ferry Point is the only lakefront bed and breakfast in New Hampshire's Lakes Region. On our quiet, scenic property, you will be treated to idyllic views of Lake Winnisquam and its glistening water, our luscious gardens, and guardian mountains in the distance. The Lake House at Ferry Point is the perfect New Hampshire Inn. At our lake front location you will enjoy relaxing on the big front porch, or if you prefer a more activity-filled lake house getaway, we are conveniently located near all of the best attractions that New Hampshire has to offer. You will love our comfortable ambiance, delectable breakfasts and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your The Lake House at Ferry Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing