We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
112
40
10
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
40
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew hampshiremy wife and idining roombed and breakfastprime ribat homefirst floornext morninggreat foodhomemade cookiesliving sociallook forwardlarge picturebreakfast was deliciousget awayculinary experienceomelet
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We got a voucher as an anniversary gift and it was wonderful!! Janel and Gretchen were warm and welcoming, the food was great, and th cookinh class was lots of fun!! They made special accomodations for our dietary restrictions, too. We would definitely come back and would recommend it highly!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lnevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We purchsed the Living Social deal this winter, and were very excited for our summer trip to the Wakefield Inn. I've been to several Bed and Breakfasts across the country, and was looking forward to this great deal.
When I called a week prior to our trip to follow-up, despite making a full reservation back in February, the manager had our information, yet no record of our reservation. Luckily, we were still able to secure a room for the dates we had planned. We didn't hold this against them, yet found it rather odd.
We were warmly welcomed by the manager Gretchen when we first arrived, but were not greeted by the innkeeper Janel. In fact, I introduced myself, but found Janel to be rather unfriendly and quiet the entire time, particularly for someone in the hospitality business. She seemed shy? She became more outgoing and talkative during the cooking class, so its obviously where she felt most comfortable. Its fine if you aren't a talkative person, but I do think you need to make sure your guests feel welcomed.
We were also unimpressed by whom we guessed to be Janel's husband; again, he never introduced himself and gruffly replied when asked how he was doing.

The inn and rooms were very beautiful and accomodating; and we enjoyed the inn overall, despite our treatment. The food was good, but for instance, when served breakfast by Janel, she walked out and placed the plates in front of us, with no "hello/good morning" or explanation to what the food was. When served by Gretchen, the next day, however, the meals were detailed down to the ingredients, with an additional inquiry as to how we were doing.

Throughout our stay, our scheduled events (massage, cooking class, lunch) kept being rescheduled on us. We felt as though it was poorly organized. Might it have had something to do with the increased number of visitors with the Living Social deal? I'm not sure. There were only 2 other couples staying with us at the inn, so it didn't seem particularly busy. Some of the events were rescheduled to try to be accomdating, but it just made us less relaxed. Perhaps they were ill-prepared because they didn't have the original record of our reservation, yet that only goes to strengthen my "unorganized" comment.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emelee190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We also purchased the Living Social deal, and we were so happy we did! We made fresh pasta (along with bread and sauce and soup) during the cooking class, which is something I had always wanted to do. The massages with Dave were wonderful, definitly something I would have paid extra for.

There are lots of little extras at the Wakefield Inn, from handthrown mugs for all of the different teas and cocoa, home made cookies, and a soda stocked fridge. All of these are always available throughout the day. These things made this b&b seem even more welcoming.

We drove into Maine (~1 hr) one afternoon to get lobster at Herbert Brother's Seafood... so yummy. This was a great trip!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The hostess was very friendly and interesting to talk to. The bed was very comfortable. The Gardens are wonderful. I would return to take some cooking classes.

Room Tip: The bed in the Sanborn room is very comfy.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhodamineRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

What was expected to be a romantic getaway with a few quirky additions (a cooking lesson, a massage, and generous gifts) turned into an unforgettable and delightful experience. It was without a doubt the best journey into exquisite dining, amazing hospitality, and total relaxation that we have ever enjoyed. Warm thanks to Janel, Gretchen & Marie from Lew & Eleanor

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMiller04401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews