We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Sanbornville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Inn is situated in a very quiet, pretty area. Our room, the Frost Room, was a good size with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was rather small but we managed with it. The owners were very helpful and the real winner here was the food. They do dinner on four nights of the week and we stayed on a Friday so we were able to dine here. The food was superb and by far the best we had eaten all holiday. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very happy to accommodate a few allergies our table had. The breakfast the next day was also superb and we were very well fed! We highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

This restaurant just keeps getting better and better! The service is consistently excellent, but the food is even better. Although my favorite had always been the crab cakes, the homemade butternut squash ravioli in a brown sugar sage sauce was incredible..light and delicate and and so melt-in-your-mouth delicious. the white chocolate bread pudding with caramel was almost gilding the lily. Will be coming back weekly!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank fidlnow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The restaurant now has a full liquor license and a broader menu with more variety for dinner choices. The food is very good and priced right. The dining room is quaint with very nice views through a large picture window out to the back yard. I've heard that the breakfast menu is now more traditional - eggs, bacon, sausage, omelets, pancakes, waffles... a nice change by the new owners and a nice spot to go for breakfast or dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John4444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

If you are planning in staying in the wakefield area, this is the place to stay. It is a lovely inn, with comfortable beds, and very quiet. The rooms are clean and it has the feel of a country inn (which is good since it is one). The breakfast was awesome and the free cookies and tea out front was a nice treat! The owners were EXTREMELY nice. They actually lent us the use of their canoe to scope out a lake we were looking at. We missed out on dinner but heard rave reviews from the other guests. So I always wonder whether great reviews on tripadvisor are staged or written by the owner. Rely on this review and stay here next time you are in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor above the dining room and didnt hear a peep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jturkBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have been coming to the Wakefield Inn (built in 1804) for many years while visiting family in the area every summer. Colleen and Dino Nicastro are the new owners/managers of the Wakefield Inn (which is actually in the Wakefield Historic District - not in Sanbornville). The Inn is one of 26 buildings on the National Register of Historic Places in Wakefield Corner.

With the new owners, there has been lots and lots of (needed) cleaning, reorganizing, gardening, etc. going on in the inn! But the new addition is their restaurant . . . with daughter Christina Nicastro as Executive Chef. Lucky guests of the inn have a delicious breakfast every day with coffee, juice, fresh fruit, home baked breads and muffins, made-to -order omelettes, etc. Christina is also the pastry chef.

Now, an outstanding brunch is now available to the public on Sundays! And, dinner is being offered Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays! A new restaurant was needed in the area, and Christina is doing a superb job . . . with prime rib, seafood risotto, chicken Marsala - pastas - desserts (cannoli, tiramisu) featured on recent menus.

Colleen and Nick (restaurant manager) are pleasant, courteous and helpful! We certainly plan a repeat visit!

Wakefield Inn & Restaurant, 2723 Wakefield Road, Wakefield, NH 03872
Telephone: (603) 522-08272
www.wakefield inn.com

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I was recently a guest at the Wakefield Inn and absolutely loved the place. I'm from a very small town where everyone knows each other, so I'm pretty used to dealing with friendly people. Well, let me tell you, the Wakefield Inn did not disappoint. Everyone there was great to deal with, and the place is clean, well managed, and quintessentially New England.

There's also an awesome restaurant that serves dinner on weekends (with live music on Thursdays). I recommend the prime rib, and the crab cakes are great too!!

I have to be back at the end of the summer and I'll definitely be stopping at the Wakefield Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I have been a guest of the Wakefield Inn on at least three occasions, and each time have been impressed with the caliber of the service, the friendliness of the staff, and the authenticity of the New England experience.

The restaurant, which serves dinner on Thursday through Saturday, and has a Sunday breakfast buffet, is great! Everything is home made, and better still, it is very reasonably priced.

This is a family run operation which, in these days of chain hotels/restaurants, is nice to see. I hope to go back soon.

P.S.-- I was going to get around to writing this review one of these days anyway, but what prompted me to do so earlier than later was the unkind, and completely inaccurate review left by Kathleen L.

If you we're unfortunate enough to be a guest at the Inn when "Ms. L." was there, you would have witnessed a temper tantrum the likes of which most people have not seen since their kids were three or four years old. Because there were no televisions in the rooms (yea!!), Ms. L. changed her mind about staying at the Inn and demanded that the Innkeeper return her money. Well, for those of you that have ever stayed in a small family-run B&B, you know that they usually have published policies to protect themselves from last minute cancellations, and the Wakefield Inn is no exception (theirs is 14 days, and it is very clearly set forth when you make the reservation). The Innkeeper, politely but firmly, reminded her of the Inn's policy. The reaction from Ms. L. was, to anyone unfortunate enough to witness it, distasteful to say the least. She told the Innkeeper that, unless she received an immediate refund, she would write multiple nasty reviews about the place even though, as her own review demonstrates, she never even stayed there. All I can say is, "Shame on you, Ms. L.!!" BTW, I also note that this is Ms. L.'s one and only review, a sure sign of someone with a grudge, NOT a legitimate Tripadvisor!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorganFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant

Address: 2723 Wakefield Rd, Wakefield, Sanbornville, Wakefield, NH 03872-4374
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Wakefield > Sanbornville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sanbornville
Price Range: £90 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant is a Historic Bed and Breakfast located in a quaint New England Village. Just minutes from Wolfeboro, NH and Lake Winnipesaukee. Come stay and enjoy the gardens, birds, and peaceful mountains from either the front porch or the back patio. Relax in the hammock with a good book. Join us for dinner in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wakefield Hotel Sanbornville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing