We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Bed and Breakfast experience could not have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Sanbornville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We were in the area for a wedding. This is the first time we have stayed at a bed and breakfast and if they are all like this, we will never stay in another hotel. The room was very comfortable and the the inn is beautiful. Janel made us feel right at home and breakfast was wonderful. We had our 6 yr old son with us and he and Janel's daughter had a great time playing in the back yard. Tell O. that Sammy says hi!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rds101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2009

My son and I were traveling in the area looking at schools. Made a reservation a few days prior to arrival. 1804 home with period furnishings meets modern conveniences. Our stay was brief, but would have liked to stay longer for the wonderful food. We traveled to several towns during this trip and this was the best breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarypets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We had a very nice one night stay at the Wakefield Inn and were fortunate that it was a Sat. Reviews have talked about the breakfasts (very good!) but the Inn also serves dinner on Fri and Sat nights. Our dinner there was wonderful: wild mushroom soup, pan seared duck breast, shrimp fra diavolo (sp?) and an amazing chilled lemon souffle were the highlights of a meal marked by outstanding ingredients, very pleasant service, and a thoughtful, interesting and reasonable wine list. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Preferring to have the windows open rather than the air conditioner on, I was a bit bothered by traffic noise--certainly not the inn's fault. Otherwise--no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ancienthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Fantastic Weekend. Janel and James Martin are the top of there ladder in hospitality. the Wakefield Inn is close enough to us, yet far enough away that we could escape and renew oursleves. The big plus is there is such a homey atmosphere.

Thanks again for a fantastic Weekend Getaway.

Brian and Kathy, Derry, NH

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThanatosUSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

Our 9-day stay at the Wakefield Inn was simply terrific. Janel, the inn-keeper, made us feel welcomed the moment we arrived.

The Wakefield Inn is over 200 years old, has seven rooms, and definitely has the old New England feel to it-- which was exactly what we were looking for. We stayed in the Whittier Room, which is the only room that does not have a connecting bathroom. However, it does have a king-size bed in the large bedroom, and a classic claw-foot bathtub to make up for it. The Inn is quiet and very relaxing. The rooms do not have TVs in them, but that is truly the beautiful part of B&B's.

Breakfast is served each morning from 8am-8:30am, and it is certainly NOT TO BE MISSED! Janel is amazing chef (went to culinary school and all) and each breakfast was a different 3-course breakfast with fresh OJ. Not only were the breakfasts mouth-watering delicious, they were relatively healthy (always, always included fresh fruit) and different each day! The Inn becomes a restaurant for dinner on Friday and Saturday evenings, as well as a place for brunch on Sundays.

The Wakefield Inn is incredibly charming, with an equally charming innkeeper. We definitely enjoyed the Wakefield Inn and would recommend it to anyone looking to experience a "real New England B&B." You'll definitely get spoiled here!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostMyMarbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

We were in New Hampshire for a wedding and the owners of the Wakefield in were very accommodating. Our room was beautiful, large and clean with a very clean bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and the owners made you feel very welcomed. I would highly recommend the Wakefield Inn to friends and family. The grounds are neat and very peaceful with a beautiful porch and gardens.
We had other relatives staying at the Wakefield Inn who also enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aemjcs12905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

The Wakefield Inn is a wonderful choice for travelers of the New Hampshire lakes area.
The guestroom (Tibbets Room) was nicely furnished and neat & clean.
The innkeepers are welcoming and full of information about both the area and the history of the inn. But above all, Janel is a fabulous chef and we were spoiled by a gourmet breakfast each morning of our stay. A poached cinnamon pear followed by whole wheat waffles with strawberry rubarb sauce for the first morning breakfast. The next day we enjoyed a cheese with carmelized onion crepe. Bon Appetit!

The Wakefield Inn is just a few minutes from Wolfeboro and lake Winnipesauke. The rates were MUCH more reasonable than the inns located right in Wolfeboro.

We highly recommend staying at this inn.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant

Address: 2723 Wakefield Rd, Wakefield, Sanbornville, Wakefield, NH 03872-4374
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Wakefield > Sanbornville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sanbornville
Price Range: £85 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant is a Historic Bed and Breakfast located in a quaint New England Village. Just minutes from Wolfeboro, NH and Lake Winnipesaukee. Come stay and enjoy the gardens, birds, and peaceful mountains from either the front porch or the back patio. Relax in the hammock with a good book. Join us for dinner in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wakefield Hotel Sanbornville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing