We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Breakfast!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Sanbornville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2007

The Wakefield Inn is a wonderful choice for travelers of the New Hampshire lakes area.
The guestroom (Tibbets Room) was nicely furnished and neat & clean.
The innkeepers are welcoming and full of information about both the area and the history of the inn. But above all, Janel is a fabulous chef and we were spoiled by a gourmet breakfast each morning of our stay. A poached cinnamon pear followed by whole wheat waffles with strawberry rubarb sauce for the first morning breakfast. The next day we enjoyed a cheese with carmelized onion crepe. Bon Appetit!

The Wakefield Inn is just a few minutes from Wolfeboro and lake Winnipesauke. The rates were MUCH more reasonable than the inns located right in Wolfeboro.

We highly recommend staying at this inn.

  • Liked — The Gourmet Breakfast and location
  • Disliked — Ran out of toilet tissue
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    35
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
91
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2006

Though the weather was cold and rainy, the Inn was warm and comforting. Spacious room plus sitting room with fridge; large bathroom. Breakfast was baked french toast with apples and cinnamon, fresh fruit cup with berries, fresh baked chocolate cherry bread. Handmade quilts decorate some of the walls as they apparently have a quilting weekend.

In the evening, there were complementary refreshments and friendly conversation around the fireplace.

FYI - Very good restaurants in nearby Wolfsboro such as Mise en Place and the more casual Wolftrap.

We will definitely return to this Inn.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2005

The Wakefield Inn is a beautiful historic home with nice furnishings and
spacious airy rooms, located in a fascinating and rustic small New Hampshire town. My two teenaged children did enjoy our stay there,
except for the innkeepers. The female host walked away as we entered the premises and never spoke to us or interacted with us during our stay. The male host was unfriendly and acted as if we were unwelcome relatives who had come to mooch off them. On the morning when we were going to leave,
I went out to the car to get a map and the innkeeper bolted out to where I was and demanded payment as if he thought I was going to leave without paying, even though my children and my luggage were still inside
(and, also, he had my credit card on file, so even if I did skip out he would
still get his money). While the breakfast was very good, he never came back to see how we were doing or to offer us a refill of coffee or juice.
He just stayed in the kitchen standing until we left (we were the only ones having breakfast) the dining area.
The Bed and Breakfast industry relies on good service and making guests feel welcome. While the house itself, the rooms, the linens, the furnishings, and baths, etc. were all excellent, the unfriendly service seemed spooky
and I would never return there or recommend The Wakefield Inn because
of the feeling that the Innkeepers did not want our business. Perhaps some tragedy hit their family right before we arrived which we did not know about
that affected their behavior--if so, I would have preferred a discreet remark about being in mourning or something like that, and I could have
forgiven the service and would have been sympathetic. But B&B's sell
service as well as a place to stay, and the service was unacceptable.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank django
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 May 2006
We regret that you had an unpleasant experience at the Wakefield Inn B & B,Inc. In reviewing our records, we found that your visit actually took place on July 21,2002. My wife & I took ownership of The Wakefield Inn B & B on July 22 2002, the day after your unfortunate experience. Although there is nothing we can do about this experience, please accept our apologies on behalf of The Wakefield Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanbornville
9.4 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
16.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester
19.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ossipee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
18.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
8.2 mi away
The Windrifter Resort
The Windrifter Resort
#6 of 6 in Wolfeboro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant
Address: 2723 Wakefield Rd, Sanbornville, Wakefield, NH 03872-4374
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Wakefield > Sanbornville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sanbornville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant is a Historic Bed and Breakfast located in a quaint New England Village. Just minutes from Wolfeboro, NH and Lake Winnipesaukee. Come stay and enjoy the gardens, birds, and peaceful mountains from either the front porch or the back patio. Relax in the hammock with a good book. Join us for dinner in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wakefield Hotel Sanbornville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing