We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive rate for an average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampshire Inn Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seabrook
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked a room here for a night, because one of our friends uses the conference center at the Hampshire Inn. We were given a discount due to our attending an event in the conference center, which was nice. The rates on their website advertised $121 per night, however the rate we were quoted when we reserved was $149 (before discount). I'm still unsure about that discrepancy.

We had a two room suite. The room was clean and neat when we arrived. There was a large room with a kitchenette, desk, office chair, 32" flat screen TV, and a queen bed. Adjoined to that was the bathroom, with the sink outside and the toilet and shower in a separate room. Through another door was another queen bed, a dresser, and a 19" flat screen TV. The accommodations were dates, but quite decent.

The one complaint we has was the air conditioning system in our room. There was only one thru-the-wall unit for the entire suite and it definitely did not suffice. This seems like a poor mistake for a hotel in a beach town.

Continental breakfast was average fare: coffee, orange juice, milk, make your own oatmeal, pastries, small bagels, muffins, yogurts, and cereal.

In summary, we found the hotel to be quite average for its price. The location was great, right in the midst of the bustling town and not too far from the beaches. The accommodations were decent, clean, and neat. I would stay again, but only if offered a lower rate.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissJenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

A friend and I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights in mid-June. We were a bit put off by the bad reviews but decided to risk it as it was close to where we needed to be and offered a room configuration where we could stay in the same room but still sleep in separate rooms (we snore too loudly and have different sleeping patterns to don't get much rest if we have to share) We got the 2 room suite without really knowing what to expect as there weren't many photos that show the configuration but it ended up being a room within a room. The door from the hallway opened into one of the bedrooms that had a small kitchen area with a bar size fridge, microwave & single sink. As mentioned in the previous reviews, there were no utensils or dishes so bring your own. This part of the room had a queen size bed, dresser, wall mounted TV and desk with office chair.

There was a separate bedroom with a door that closed with another queen sized bed, dresser, nightstands and a small wall mounted TV. The bathroom was off to one side and you didn't have to go through the private bedroom to access it. The sink is separate from the room with toilet and shower which was good for getting ready in the morning but not so good for middle of the night trips to the washroom as there's no door between the sink area and the person sleeping in the outer bedroom. If he or she is a light sleeper, having the sink area in the bedroom isn't ideal.

Overall, it was one of the more convenient layouts that we've found when travelling. We usually try to find a hotel with separate sleeping areas so we can stay in the same room but each have our own sleeping space.

We found the beds to be comfortable. The ones in our room had very springy mattresses/supports that bouce when you sit on them and tend to squeak loudly, lol. But for sleeping they were comfortable as I prefer a soft bed.

The room wasn't noticably dirty as some reviews mentioned but there was dust on the curtain tops and one day my bed wasn't made so I don't think managment/owners stress cleanliness of the rooms as being a high priority. We didn't find anything in our room that made us uncomfortable for our stay.

There were a few things missing from that room that I would expect at most hotels - nothing too major but it would have been nice to know about these things before our visit so we could pack accordingly. As mentioned by several reviewers, towels are scarce. Our room which should be able to sleep 4 people had 2 bath towels, 2 hand towels, 2 facecloths and a bath mat. Clocks were also scarce. The only clock in our room was the small display on the microwave oven. There were no alarm clocks in either bedroom. I tried turning on the weather network so there would be a clock in my room but the TV didn't display the channel correctly and so the bottom display with the time was cut off. I had to resort to sleeping with my watch or computer on so I'd know what time to get up. There was also only 1 chair (at the desk) in the suite. If my friend and I wanted to eat breakfast in our room, one of us had to eat in bed as there wasn't anywhere else to sit.

Breakfast was pretty much what we expected from the reviews: cold cereal with milk, bread & bagels for the toaster with a variety of toppings (jams, cream cheese, peanut butter) and muffins (blueberry or bran) Most of the time we were there it was served in a small side room near the desk but one morning it was on a shelf near the coffee & juice machines. Most guests seemed to take it back to their rooms on a tray rather than eat at one of the communal tabels in the breakfast room.

The front desk staff were pleasant but easily flustered. We wanted to pay for our stay by dividing the charges in half and paying on 2 separate credit cards. When it came time to check out the person manning the desk had some problems getting this processed and it ended up taking longer than we expected to get on the road. We never saw more than one staff person at any time so there were often times when we would go to the desk and no one would be there because the person on duty had to go to someone's room. This hotel is a bit large for there to be only one person at the desk in my opinion. Service could be improved if there was a 2nd person working during busier periods.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and plan to return next year when we are visiting the area again. Now that we know what is and isn't in the rooms we'll pack accordingly.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank PEIPaleskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Poor choice of overnight stay. We used a coupon and it was easy on and off road access. This is the only good points of this stay. Rooms were dirty , mattress was at least 20 yrs old, pillows flat, fingerprints on the door, mold in bathroom . What can I say - sketchy and scary!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlamosJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My friend and I just stayed at this hotel for several nights. Our room layout was ideal for us..each person had their own bed in a separate room with the bathroom off of both rooms. The staff were pleasant to deal with, friendly and helpful. We did have a few little issues, one of the beds was forgotten by the room attendant so it remained unmade..the bathroom was not cleaned very well during our stay. Just a cursory tidy more than a good cleaning. The breakfast was ok..just cereal,muffins, toast,bagels coffee &juice. It is in two separate areas which is a little strange and could be easily missed by some guests. This was fine for me, nothing fancy but better than nothing at all. The beds were very comfortable ..the pillows were not..they need replacing.
For the price and the fab location this hotel was a good value and we will be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My bf and I stayed here on a Wednesday night. Paid $89 for the night through Booking.com. The rooms were very large and looked recently renovated. Big flat-screen tvs. The paint, carpet and bathroom tile, bed, couch, and tables all looked new. The only older stuff was the sink/fridge area and the bathroom fixtures, which were old and grimy. They have a jacuzzi tub, but the towels are strangely small. I'm not a big person and they hardly covered me. They are definitely trying to improve the rooms, but they just need a little more work.
They said the had cookies and milk at night, but we didn't see them. The breakfast in the morning was packets of oatmeal and hot chocolate. They shouldn't advertise continental breakfast with such meager options.
The stay was better than I expected for the price and area but still needed some improvements. I would stay here again if they keep the cost down.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si vous n'avez pas le choix.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Arceauboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Anick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seabrook
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
#2 of 2 in Amesbury
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
4.1 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#11 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
3.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
3.6 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Inn Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Inn Conference Center

Address: 20 Spur Rd, Seabrook, NH 03874-4137
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Seabrook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Seabrook
Price Range: £38 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hampshire Inn Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 35 room hotel, rates include breakfast. Handicap accessible,indoor pool, fitness room, elevator, 24 hour front desk. Large rooms with refrigerator and microwave ovens and free local calls. Close to Hampton Beach, Seabrook Dog Track, tax free shopping, many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampshire Inn Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing