We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed bugs, and Spiders and Ticks... oh my”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Philbrook Farm Inn

Philbrook Farm Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Philbrook Farm Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bed bugs, and Spiders and Ticks... oh my”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

First, we didn't stay at the Inn itself, we stayed at the three "cabins" on the hill. Norman Bates, eat your heart out. The houses were family homes built in the 1800's, and they don't look or feel like they have been cleaned since then. Aside form the creepy glass man in the "Do not enter room," where the door never shuts and he watches u as you walk by to the bathroom, it is peaceful and there are some nice scenic landscapes. But with horseflies the size of birds, ticks in the house, and in the beds, spiders the size of crabs and parasitic microbugs in the beds too, we would not wish to return. Maybe it was the time of year, but the houses should be condemned or at least a historic museum. Please, if you go, try the Inn ONLY; at lease the surrounding area was enjoyable. Sorry Philbrook, we like the outdoors, outdoors. Oh one more thing, dead rodents are not floatation devices. Yes they have a pool.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Zyniker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    5
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loudon, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Ann and Larry are the best hosts. They will do anything to make your stay perfect. This early 1800 B&B is so charming.. A lot of history in this house.
This is the first Inn that I have stayed in that serves you a 3 course dinner as well as a very hearty breakfast. Traditional Yankee Fare. Saturday nights meal; Ham, soup, baked beans, rolls, brown bread and dessert. Everything is homemade!
This is a great place to hike, snowshoe and cross country ski. They have trails starting from their front door. The mountain views are fantastic.. Thank you Ann and Larry, we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abenaki11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

The Philbrook Farm Inn is as lovely as the pictures on their website. Old, old home that has been in the family since the early 1800's. Still family owned. One of the best parts is the food. Breakfast and dinner are included in the price for the overnight. We had pot roast the first night and could have cut the meat with a toothpick--so tender. Great veggies. Eggs cooked to order at breakfast. A neat assemblage of people were staying there, so visiting with them was fun. I'd go back if it weren't so far away from Oklahoma.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peppersm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreat
Level Contributor
166 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Our stay at the Philbrook Farm Inn was most enjoyable. The inn built in around 1835 was a great mid point in out two week vacation to just sit and enjoy the view and to get away from people.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trimic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

We spent one night at the Philbrook Farm Inn and while we found the Inn had old time New England charm, the overall interior was on the worn out side. This place could be wonderful, but it appears to need much TLC to return it to restored beauty of days gone by.

Ann, the Inn Keeper was pleasant and helpful and provided anything asked for. The meals were delicious and well prepared. We could have done without the smell of cigarettes from Larry, one of the co-owners, as he smoked in a room right off of the main sitting area.

I would recommend the Inn for the location, but if you are looking for something historical and elegant, this is not the place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dperry3568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

The Philbrook Farm Inn is such a rare find - each room is filled with authentic treasures gathered by the Philbrook family, and the living room is packed with the coolest and kookiest things - xmas cards from 1895, old fashioned jigsaw puzzles and books from the 18th century. The inn has apparently been in the same family fro 8 generations - making it a one-of-a-kind in the USA.
We called on a whim in August, expecting to find they had no vacancy but to our surprise they had a great room available for two nights - Gramp's Room. The price included dinner, the room and breakfast and was amazing value for a clean, spacious and absolutely beautiful room.
The inn keepers - Ann and Larry - are both very interesting to talk to. We were there at a very quiet time and so we almost had the inn to ourselves. The peace and quiet is unbelievable as is the view. The proximity to the awesome hiking at the White Mountains is unbeatable. You are in Pinkham Notch in ten minutes and there are even some trails leading off the Philbrook property.
The only slight downside was the breakfast - we had eaten at the inn before and were sorry to see that the quality of the cooking had diminished a little over the years. Then again, if heavy cream, eggs and bacon are your thing, you'll probably love the food.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenPark2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmington, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2008

A pure pleasure, low key, with North Country theme and history exuding from every quality of this place. Relaxed, not stuffily proper, but very real with truly wonderful, responsive hosts. This is a family business and one feels very much a part.

An excellent place from which to canoe the Androscoggin, hike tributaries to the White Mountains, the Appalachian Trail, and quick access to Mt. Washington, Gorham, Bethen, Maine.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank athodyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
5.0 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
5.9 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
21.3 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
13.5 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philbrook Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philbrook Farm Inn

Property: Philbrook Farm Inn
Address: 881 North Rd, Shelburne, NH 03581-3212
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Shelburne
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing